HC Deb 23 June 1927 vol 207 cc2034-7
43. Mr. HURD

asked the Minister of Health how many and what rural district councils have been rejected by the Ministry as authorities to work the Housing (Rural Workers) Act, and for what reasons?


With the hon. Member's permission, I will circulate in the OFFICIAL REPORT a list of the 114 rural district councils whose applications to be declared local authorities under the Act in question have been rejected. The reason for refusing these applications were that the county councils propose to operate the Act.


Was that kind of refusal to rural district councils in the right hon. Gentleman's mind when he accepted an Amendment to the Bill during its passage through the House to enable these councils to become the authorities to work the Act?


My action, I think, is strictly in accordance with the provisions of the Act.

Following is the list:

List of the 114 Rural District Councils who have been refused permission to operate the Housing (Rural Workers) Act, 1926.

Axholme, Isle of Misterton
Bicester Newcastle-under-Lyme
Blean Norham and Island shires
Bowland Northampton
Bridgwater Orsett
Bridport Oundle
Brixworth Oxenden
Bromley Penistone
Bromsgrove Penrith
Campden Pewsey
Cannock Plympton St. Mary
Carmarthen Pontefract
Castle Ward Pontypool
Cerne Ramsbury
Chailey Reigate
Chard Ripon
Cheltenham Rochford
Chester Romford
Chippenham Romney Marsh
Chipping Norton Rotherham
Chipping Sodbury Runcorn
Crick Saffron Walden
Crowmarsh Shaftesbury
Cuckfield Sherborne
Culmstock Southwell
Dartford South Westmorland
Devizes Stapleford
Doncaster Stone
Dorking Strood
East Ashford Stroud
East Dean and United Parishes Tadcaster
East Elloe Taunton
Escrick Tenterden
Frome Thame
Gainsborough Thornbury
Gloucester Tiverton
Goole Tonbridge
Guildford Totnes
Haltwhistle Uckfield
Hambledon Upton-on-Severn
Henley Uttoxoter
Honiton Wakefield
Hoo Wellingborough
Horncastle Wellington
Hunslet West Ashford
Kettering Wetherby
Keynsham Weymouth
Knaresborough Wharfedale
Lexden and Winstree Wheatenhurst
Lichfield Williton
Long Ashton Wincanton
Louth Wirrall
Macclesfield Wortley
Malpas Yeovil
Martley Ystradgynlais

NOTE.—In addition to the above permission has been refused to Neath Rural District Council to operate the Act in the Parish of Ystradfellte Rural (in the County of Brecknock). The Ministry has consented to their application to operate in their own district in the County of Glamorgan.

44. Mr. HURD

asked the Minister of Health if he will name the 22 rural district councils to which, on 28th April last, approval had been given to carry out the Housing (Rural Workers) Act; and will he state what other councils have received similar approval from the Ministry?


With the hon. Member's permission, I will circulate in the OFFICIAL REPORT a list of the 70 rural district councils which have so far been declared local authorities under the Act in question.

Following is the list:

List of the 70 rural district councils which have been declared local authorities under the Housing (Rural Workers) Act, 1926:

Abingdon. Hambleden
Alcester Henstead
Amersham Hungerford
Atherstone Kings Lynn
Aylesbury Llantrisant and Llantwit Fardre
Blofield Loddon and Clavering
Brailes Long Crendon
Buckingham Marshland
Cardiff Meriden
Chester-le-Street Mitford and Launditch
Cookham Monks Kirby
Coventry *Neath
Depwade Newbury
Docking Newport Pagnell
Downham Nuneaton
Durham Penybont
Easington Rugby
Easthampstead Ruthin
Erpingham St. Faiths
Eton Sedgefield
Faringdon Smallburgh
Farnborough Solihull
Flegg, East and West Southam
Foleshill Stratford-on-Avon
Forehoe Sunderland
Freebridge Lynn Swaffham
Thetford Wight, Isle of
Walsingham Windsor
Wallingford Wing
Wantage Winslow
Warwick Wokingham
Wayland Wrexham
Weardale Wycombe.
* Except as regards the parish of Ystradfellte Rural (in the county of Brecknock), which is administered by Neath Rural District Council.

Back to