HC Deb 22 February 1926 vol 192 cc40-1

asked the Attorney-General the names of the advisory committee of the Lord Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire, appointed for the purpose of advising as to new Justices of the Peace, and what Petty Sessional Divisions of the county they represent; whether there have been any changes in the constitution of the body recently, and, if so, what; and how many times the committee has met during the last two years?

The SOLICITOR - GENERAL (Sir Thomas Inskip)

As the answer contains a list of names, I will, with the hon. Member's permission, circulate it in the OFFICIAL REPORT.

Following is the answer:

The advisory committee for the County of Buckingham consists of the Lord Lieutenant (Lord Cottesloe) and the following members:

The members are not appointed to represent particular Petty Sessional Divisions. They are selected from amongst persons having a good general knowledge of the whole of the county. The last appointment to the committee was made in December, 1924, when Mr. West was appointed to a vacancy caused by the resignation of the Earl of Buckinghamshire. The Lord Chancellor understands that the committee has met at least four times during the last two years.

Forward to