HC Deb 26 June 1925 vol 185 cc1920-1

Whether a local authority has taken part in preparing a town-planning scheme or not it may submit to the Minister of Health and the Minister of Labour schemes for providing allotments, not exceeding one quarter of an acre in extent, for every unemployed man on the live register within that area who is willing to cultivate such allotment and is reasonably fit for such work.—[Mr. Lawson.]

Brought up, and read the First time.


I beg to move, "That the Clause be read a Second time."

In view of the fact that the discussion on a previous Clause included this New Clause, I beg formally to move.


I beg to second the Motion.

Question put, "That the Clause be read a Second time."

The House divided: Ayes, 59; Noes, 85.

Division No. 211.] AYES. [12.31 p.m.
Adamson, W. M. (Staff., Cannock) Hamilton, Sir R. (Orkney & Shetland) Naylor, T. E.
Alexander, A. V. (Sheffield, Hillsbro') Henderson, Rt. Hon. A. (Burnley) Oliver, George Harold
Attlee, Clement Richard Henderson, T. (Glasgow) Paling, W.
Baker, Walter Hirst, W. (Bradford, South) Potts, John S.
Barnes, A. Hutchison, Sir Robert (Montrose) Richardson, R. (Houghton-le-Spring)
Batey, Joseph Jenkins, W. (Glamorgan, Neath) Riley, Ben
Bowerman, Rt. Hon. Charles W. John, William (Rhondda, West) Ritson, J.
Bromley, J. Johnston, Thomas (Dundee) Scrymgeour, E.
Buchanan, G. Jones, T. I. Mardy (Pontypridd) Sexton, James
Crawfurd, H. E. Kennedy, T. Shiels, Dr. Drummond
Dalton, Hugh Livingstone, A. M. Slesser, Sir Henry H.
Day, Colonel Harry Lowth, T. Smith, H. B. Lees (Keighley)
Edwards, C. (Monmouth, Bedwellty) MacDonald, Rt. Hon. J. R. (Aberavon) Snell, Harry
Gibbins, Joseph Mackinder, W. Stamford, T. W.
Gosling, Harry MacLaren, Andrew Taylor, R. A.
Hall, Fredk. (Yorks, Normanton) March, S. Thorne, G. R. (Wolverhampton, E.)
Thorne, W. (West Ham, Plaistow) Wedgwood, Rt. Hon. Josiah Young, Robert (Lancaster, Newton)
Thurtle, E. Westwood, J.
Tinker, John Joseph Wilkinson, Ellen C. TELLERS FOR THE AYES.
Viant, S. P. Windsor, Walter Mr. Lawson and Mr. T. Williams.
Webb, Rt. Hon. Sidney Wright, W.
Acland-Troyte, Lieut.-Colonel Henn, Sir Sydney H. Preston, William
Barnston, Major Sir Harry Hogg, Rt. Hon. Sir D.(St. Marylebone) Price, Major C. W. M.
Berry, Sir George Holbrook, Sir Arthur Richard Ramsden, E.
Boyd-Carpenter, Major A. Hopkins, J. W. W. Sandeman, A. Stewart
Bridgeman, Rt. Hon. William Clive Hopkinson, A. (Lancaster, Mossley) Savery, S. S.
Brocklebank, C. E. R. Howard, Capt. Hon. D. (Cumb., N.) Shaw, Capt. W. W. (Wilts, Westb'y)
Brown, Brig.-Gen. H. C.(Berks, Newb'y) Hurd, Percy A. Simms, Dr. John M. (Co. Down)
Broun-Lindsay, Major H. Jackson, Lieut.-Colonel Hon. F. S. Smithers, Waldron
Campbell, E. T. Jacob, A. E. Sprot, Sir Alexander
Cautley, Sir Henry S. Knox, Sir Alfred Strickland, Sir Gerald
Chadwick, Sir Robert Burton Lamb, J. Q. Sugden, Sir Wilfrid
Clarry, Reginald George Lane-Fox, Lieut.-Col. George R. Sykes, Major-Gen. Sir Frederick H.
Cochrane, Commander Hon. A. D. Looker, Herbert William Tasker, Major R. Inigo
Cope, Major William MacAndrew, Charles Glen Thomson, F. C. (Aberdeen, South)
Couper, J. B. Macdonald, R. (Glasgow, Cathcart) Tinne, J. A.
Davies, A. V. (Lancaster, Royton) McDonnell, Colonel Hon. Angus Waterhouse, Captain Charles
Davies, Sir Thomas (Cirencester) Maitland, Sir Arthur D. Steel- Watson, Sir F. (Pudsey and Otley)
Dixey, A. C. McLean, Major A. Watts, Dr. T.
Doyle, Sir N. Grattan Makins, Brigadier-General E. Wheler, Major Sir Granville C. H.
Drewe, C. Margesson, Captain D. Williams, Com. C. (Devon, Torquay)
Fermoy, Lord Milne, J. S. Wardlaw- Wilson, M. J. (York, N. R., Richm'd)
Forestier-Walker, Sir L. Mitchell, S. (Lanark, Lanark) Windsor-Clive, Lieut.-Colonel George
Gee, Captain R. Monsell, Eyres, Com. Rt. Hon. B. M. Wise, Sir Fredric
Gibbs, Col. Rt. Hon. George Abraham Moore, Lieut.-Colonel T. C. R. (Ayr) Womersley, W. J.
Grotrian, H. Brent Morrison, H. (Wilts, Salisbury) Wood, Rt. Hon. E. (York, W. R., Ripon)
Gunston, Captain D. W. Newman, Sir R. H. S. D. L. (Exeter)
Hacking, Captain Douglas H. Nuttall, Ellis TELLERS FOR THE NOES.
Hall, Vice-Admiral Sir R.(Eastbourne) Oman, Sir Charles William C. Sir Douglas Newton and Captain
Harrison, G. J. C. Pennefather, Sir John Bourne.
Hawke, John Anthony Peto, G. (Somerset, Frome)

Question, "That the Clause be read a Second time," put, and agreed to.