HC Deb 12 May 1924 vol 173 cc894-5
47. Sir F. HALL

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies if, in view of the effect of Article 12 of the Irish Treaty of 6th December, 1921, upon the Act passed in 1920, supported by specific guarantees by the British Government of the day establishing Northern Ireland as a separate self-governing State, consisting of the Parliamentary counties of Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, and Tyrone, and the Parliamentary boroughs of Belfast and Londonderry, he will say what course the Government proposes to take in view of the refusal of the Ulster Government, relying on the pledges given to Northern Ireland in the past, to appoint a Boundary Commissioner?


asked the Prime Minister whether the Government of Northern Ireland has refused to appoint a Boundary Commission; and, if so, whether His Majesty's Government intend themselves to appoint one for the representation of Ulster on the Commission?


The answer to the first part of Question No. 35 is in the affirmative, a despatch to that effect having been received this morning. With regard to the second part, the whole subject is receiving the immediate consideration of His Majesty's Government.