HC Deb 24 June 1924 vol 175 c250

asked the Postmaster-General whether it is a rule of his Department that all sub-post offices in London shall be closed at mid-day on the early closing day of their respective districts; if so, what post offices are open for the convenience of the public in London on early closing days; what are the opening and closing hours daily of district post offices; and what post offices are open in London after 8 p.m. for the convenience of the public?


Sub-postmasters are, as a rule, permitted to close their offices at 1 p.m. on the local early closing day; but arrangements are made for a sufficient number of offices—whether head, branch, or sub-post offices—to be open in each locality to meet reasonable public requirements. When an office is closed, a notice is exhibited showing the nearest office open. The post offices in London which are not closed on the local early closing day are indicated on pages 468 to 487 of the Post Office Guide, a copy of which I am forwarding to the hon. Member. The hours of business at the London district post offices are generally from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., but the London chief office is open from 6.45 a.m. until 9 p.m. The post offices open in London after 8 p.m., in addition to the chief office, are the Fleet Street Branch Post Office, the Central Telegraph Office in Newgate Street and the West Strand Telegraph Office.