HC Deb 01 July 1924 vol 175 cc1133-4

asked the Postmaster-General if he will give the names of the members of the Departmental Committee which is considering the nationalisation, under the Post Office, of wireless telegraphy and foreign cables; whether the original number of members has been increased; if so, for what reason; whether the original terms of reference have been extended; and whether broad- casting comes within the scope of such reference?


The Committee on the organisation of the Imperial Wireless Services is constituted as follows:

  • Sir Robert Donald, G.B.E., LL.D. (Chairman).
  • Sir Arthur Balfour, K.B.E.
  • Sir G. L. Barstow, K.C.B.
  • Mr. J. W. Bowen.
  • Sir Henry Lambert, K.C.M.G., C.B.
  • Rt. Hon. Sir Alfred Mond, Bart.
  • Sir G. E. P. Murray, K.C.B.
  • Sir Edwin Stockton.
  • Sir Campbell Stuart, K.B.E.
Four additional members have been added to the original number, because I considered that their inclusion would be of service to the Committee. The answer to the last two parts of the question is in the negative.

Forward to