HC Deb 30 March 1920 vol 127 c1219

Ordered, That a Select Committee be appointed—

To examine the current Expenditure defrayed out of moneys provided by Parliament and to report what, if any, economies consistent with the execution of the policy decided by the Government may be effected therein:

To make recommendations in regard to the form of Public Accounts, the system of control within the Departments and by the Treasury, and the procedure of this House in relation to Supply and Appropriation, so as to secure more effective control by Parliament over Public Expenditure; and to have power to appoint from outside its own body such additional persons as it may think fit to serve on any Sub-Committee which it may appoint with the view to the preparation of such recommendations:

Ordered, That the Committee do consist of Twenty-six Members:

Lieut. - Colonel Archer - Shee, Mr. Armitage, Sir Frederick Banbury, Mr. Beckett, Mr. Briant, Mr. France, Sir William Howell Davies, Colonel Gretton, Mr. Thomas Griffiths, Major Lloyd-Greame, Mr. Gwynne, Lieut.-Colonel Walter Guinness, Major Henderson, Colonel Jackson, Sir Edgar Jones, Mr. Kiley, Mr. Lunn, Mr. Marriott, Mr. Frederick Roberts, Sir Thomas Robinson, Mr. Rose, Mr. Arthur Michael Samuel, Colonel Stephenson, Mr. Aneurin Williams, Colonel Sir Robert Williams, and Mr. Wilson-Fox nominated Members of the Committee:

Ordered, That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers, and records:

Ordered, That the Committee have leave to report from time to time:

Ordered, That Five be the quorum.—[Lieut.-Colonel Sir R. Sanders.]