HC Deb 10 November 1919 vol 121 cc50-2

Will the Leader of the House state what will be the business for Thursday?


Perhaps my right hon. Friend will wait till to-morrow.

Motion made, and Question proposed, "That the Proceedings on the Industrial Courts Bill be exempted at this day's Sitting from the provisions of the Standing Order (Sittings of the House)."—[Mr. Bonar Law.]


How late is it proposed to sit to-night?


We wish to get the measure for which the suspension of the Rule is proposed. I hope it will not be very late.


Do you mean the whole of it?



Question put, "That the Proceedings on the Industrial Courts Bill be exempted at this day's Sitting from the provisions of the Standing Order (Sittings of the House)."

The House divided: Ayes, 162; Noes, 33.

Division No. 128.] AYES. [4.5 p.m.
Adair, Rear-Admiral Gardiner, J. (Perth) Murray, Maj. C. D, (Edinburgh, S.)
Adkins, Sir W. Ryland D. Geddes, Rt. Hon. Sir A. C. (Basingstoke) Murray, Hon. G. (St. Rollox)
Allen, Colonel William James Gibbs, Colonel George Abraham Murray, William (Dumfries)
Archdale, Edward M. Gilmour, Lieut.-Colonel John Nicholl, Com. Sir Edward
Bagley, Captain E. A. Grant, James Augustus Nicholson, R. (Doncaster)
Baird, John Lawrence Greame, Major p. Lloyd Nield, Sir Herbert
Baldwin, Stanley Green, J. F. (Leicester) O'Neill, Captain Hon. Robert W. H,
Balfour, George (Hampstead) Gregory, Holman Ormsby-Gore, Hon. William
Barnston, Major H. Greig, Colonel James William Parker, James
Beckett, Hon. Gervase Hacking, Colonel D. H. Perring, William George
Betterton, H. B. Hambro, Angus Valdemar Pinkham, Lt.-Colonel Charles
Blair, Major Reginald Hanson, Sir Charles Pollock, Sir Ernest Murray
Borwick, Major G. O. Harmsworth, Cecil R. (Luton, Beds.) Pownall, Lt.-Colonel Assheton
Boscawen, Sir Arthur Griffith- Henderson, Maj. V. L. (Tradeston, Glas) Pratt, John William
Bottomley, Horalie Henry, Denis S. (Londonderry, S.) Purchase, H. G.
Breese, Major C. E. Herbert, Col. Hon. A. (Yeovil) Rae, H. Norman
Buchanan, Lieut. -Colonel A. L. H. Hills, Major J. W. (Durham) Raeburn, Sir William
Burn, Colonel C. R. (Torquay) Hinds, John Ramsden, G. T.
Burn, T. H. (Belfast) Heare, Lt.-Col. Sir Samuel J. G. Raper, A. Baldwin
Butcher, Sir J. G. Hohler, Gerald Fitzroy Raw, Lieut-Colonel Dr. N.
Campbell, J. G. D. Hood, Joseph Rees, Sir J. D.
Carr, W. T. Hope, James Fitzalan (Sheffield) Roundell, Lt.-Colonel R. F.
Cautley, Henry Strother Hope, Lt.-Col. Sir J. (Midlothian) Rowlands, James
Cayzer, Major H. R. Hopkins, J. W. W. Sanders, Colonel Robert Arthur
Cecil, Rt. Hon. Lord R. (Hitchin) Horne, Sir Robert (Hillhead) Scott, A. M. (Glas., Bridgeton
Chamberlain, Rt. Hon. J. A. (Birm., W.) Houston, Robert Paterson Shaw, Hon. A. (Kilmarnock)
Cheyne, Sir William Watson Howard, Major S. G. Spret, Colonel Sir Alexander
Churchill, Rt. Hon. Winston S. Hughes, Spencer Leigh Stanley, Col. H. G. F. (Preston)
Clyde, James Avon Hurd, P. A. Steel, Major S. Strang
Coats, Sir Stuart Jesson, C. Sturrock J. Leng-
Cobb, Sir Cyril Jodrell, N. P. Sutherland, Sir William
Cockerill, Brig. -General G. K. Johnstone, J. Taylor, J. (Dumbarton)
Cohen, Major J. B. B. Kellaway, Frederick George Terrell, Capt. R. (Henley, Oxford)
Colvin, Brig. -General R. B. Kerr-Smiley, Major P. Thomson, F. C. (Aberdeen, S.)
Cooper, Sir Richard Ashmole Law, Rt. Hon. A. Bonar Thomson, Sir W. Mitchell- (M'yh!
Coote, Colin R. (Isle of Ely) Lewis, Rt. Hon. J. H. (Univ., Wales) Thorpe, Captain John Henry
Coote, William (Tyrone, S.) Lewis, T. A. (Pontypridd, Glam.) Wallace, J.
Craig, Captain Charles C. (Antrim) Locker-Lampson, Com. O. (Hunt'don) Walters, Sir John Tudor
Craig, Col. Sir James (Down, Mid.) Lonsdale, James R. Ward, W. Dudley (Southampton)
Curzon, Commander Viscount Lyle, C. E. Leonard (Stratford) Wardle, George J.
Davies, Alfred Thomas (Lincoln) Lynn, R. J. White, Colonel G. D. (Southport)
Dawes, J. A. M'Curdy, Charles Albert Whitla, Sir William
Dennis, J. W. Macdonald, Rt. Hon. J. M. (Stirling) Wilson, Capt. A. Stanley (Hold'ness)
Dockrell, Sir M. M'Laren, R. (Lanark, N.) Wilson-Fox, Henry
Donald, T. M'Lean, Lt.-Col. C. W. W. (Brigg) Wood, Sir J. (Stalybridge and Hyde)
Doyle, N. Grattan Macleod, John Mackintosh Woolcock, W. J. U.
Du Pre, Colonel W. B. Macmaster, Donald Yate, Colonel Charles Edward
Edge, Captain William McMicklng, Major Gilbert Yeo, Sir Alfred William
Edwards, Major J. (Aberavon) McNeill, Ronald (Canterbury) Young, Lt-Com. E. H. (Norwich)
Eyres-Monsell, Commander Malone, Major P. (Tottenham, S.) Young, Sir F. W. (Swindon)
Falcon, Captain M. Moles, Thomas Young, William (Perth and Kinross)
Fell, Sir Arthur Molson, Major John Elsdale Younger, Sir George
Fisher, Rt. Hon. Herbert A. L. Mond, Rt. Hon. Sir Alfred Moritz
Forestier-Walker, L. Moore, Major-General Sir Newton J. TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—Captain
Forster, Rt. Hon. H. W. Morrison-Bell, Major A. C. F. Guest and Lord E. Talbot.
Ganzoni, Captain F. C. Murchison, C. K.
Acland, Rt. Hon. Francis Dyke Hall, F. (Yorks, Normanton) Short, A. (Wednesbury)
Adamson, Rt. Hon. William Hartshorn, V. Sitch, C. H.
Banbury, Rt. Hon. Sir Frederick Henderson. Rt. Hon. Arthur Spoor, B. G.
Benn, Captain W. (Leith) Hodge, Rt. Hon. John Thomas, Rt. Hon. J. H. (Derby)
Briant, F. Hogge, J. M. Tootill, Robert
Brown, J. (Ayr and Bute) Irving, Dan Waterson, A. E.
Clynes, Rt. Hon. John R. Kenworthy, Lieut. -Commander Wedgwood, Colonel Josiah C.
Davies, Alfred (Clitheroe) Lunn, William Wignall, James
Entwistle, Major C. F. Murray, Dr. D. (Western Isles) Wilson, W. T. (Westhoughton)
Galbraith, Samuel Newbould, A. E.
Glanville, Harold James O'Grady, James TELLERS FOR THE NOES.— Mr.
Graham, W. (Edinburgh) Rose, Frank H. T. Griffiths and Mr. Neil McLean.

Original Question put, and agreed to.