HC Deb 07 July 1919 vol 117 cc1390-1
60. Captain TERRELL

asked the Prime Minister whether he can now make any statement as to the composition and reference of the Royal Commission on agricultural policy?

33. Lieut.-Colonel WEIGALL

asked the Parliamentary Secretary to the Board of Agriculture when the terms of reference and personnel of the Royal Commission on agriculture, promised nine weeks ago, will be announced?


The terms of reference to the Royal Commission on Agriculture are as follow: To inquire into the economic prospects of the agricultural industry in Great Britain, with special reference to the adjustment of a balance between the prices of agricultural commodities, the costs of production, the remuneration of labour, and hours of employment. The following gentlemen have kindly consented to serve on the Commission:

  • Sir William Peat, F.C.A. (chairman), president, Institute of Chartered Accountants, 1906–7 and 1907–8.
  • Charles Douglas, C.B., D. Sc, agriculturist.
  • E. W. Langford, agriculturist.
  • Henry Overman, O.B.E., agriculturist.
  • G. Rea, C.B.E., agriculturist.
  • R. R. Robbins, agriculturist.
  • W. Anker Simmons, C.B.E., land agent.
  • Arthur W. Ashby, agricultural statistician.
  • George Dallas, divisional organiser of the Workers' Union.
  • Joseph F. Duncan, secretary of the Scottish Farm Servants' Union.
  • Thomas Prosser Jones, Welsh representative.
  • George Nicholls, late M.P. for North Northants and ex-Mayor of Peterborough.
  • 1391
  • W. R. Smith, M.P, Member for Welling-borough Division, Northants. Chairman of the National Agricultural Labourers' Union.
  • R. B. Walker, secretary of the National Agricultural Labourers' Union.
  • Sir William J. Ashley, M.A., Hon. Ph.D., vice-principal of Birmingham University.
  • H. S. Cautley, K.C., M.P., Member for East Grinstead.
  • Frederick E. Green, author, and journalist on agricultural subjects.
  • John M'D. Henderson, barrister-at-law, and chartered accountant.
  • R. V. Lennard, M.A., lecturer in modern history, Wadham College, Oxford.
  • E. H. Parser, director of Barclay's Bank, Cambridge.
Three names have to be added. When the Commission is complete it will, in addition to the chairman, consist of twenty-two members, of whom eight are agriculturists and eight representatives of labour.


Is there any time limit for the presentation of the Report of this Commission?


I do not think it is possible to set a time limit, but the Commission understand the urgency of the problem.


Are the consumers to be represented?


If my hon. and gallant Friend will look at the names he will see that the general public is fairly represented.