HC Deb 19 February 1918 vol 103 cc707-8

Ordered, "That a Select Committee be appointed—

To examine the current Expenditure defrayed out of moneys provided by Par- liament and to report what, if any, economies consistent with the execution of the policy decided by the Government may be effected therein:

To make recommendations in regard to the form of Public Accounts, the system of control within the Departments and by the Treasury, and the procedure of this House in relation to Supply and Appropriation, so as to secure more effective control by Parliament over Public Expenditure; and to have power to appoint from outside its own body such additional persons as it may think fit to serve on any Sub-Committee which it may appoint with the view to the preparation of such recommendations:

Ordered, That the Committee do consist of twenty-six members:

Committee accordingly nominated of Mr. Adamson, Mr. Arnold, Sir Frederick Banbury, Mr. Blair, Mr. Boland, Major Godfrey Collins, Mr. Percy Alfred Harris, Mr. J. M. Henderson, Sir Charles Henry, Mr. Holt, Mr. Home, Mr. Haydn Jones, Mr. Leif Jones, Mr. Keating, Mr. Lonsdale, Mr. Marriott, Mr. James Mason, Mr. Mooney, Sir Samuel Roberts, Mr. Herbert Samuel, Mr. Scanlan, Colonel Weigall, Colonel Sir Robert Williams, Mr. J. W. Wilson, Mr. Tyson Wilson, and Mr. Wilson-Fox.

Ordered, That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers and records:

Ordered, That the Committee have leave to report from time to time:

Ordered, That Five be the quorum."— [Mr. Towyn Jones.]

The remaining Orders were read, and postponed.

Whereupon Mr. DEPUTY-SPEAKER (Mr. Whitley), pursuant to the Order of the House of the 13th February, proposed the Question, "That this House do now adjourn."

Question put, and agreed to.

Adjourned accordingly at Thirteen minutes before Nine o'clock