HC Deb 27 February 1917 vol 90 cc1981-3

Motion made, and Question proposed, "That an additional number of Officers

The Committee divided: Ayes, 34; Noes, 133.

Division No. 5.] AYES. [10.34 p.m.
Anderson, W. C. Hogge, James Myles O'Leary, Daniel
Boyle, Daniel (Mayo, North) John, Edward Thomas Pringle, William M. R.
Chancellor, Henry George Jones, Rt. Hon. Leif (Notts, Rushcliffe) Rowntree, Arnold
Clancy, John Joseph Jowett, Frederick William Trevelyan, Charles Philips
Clough, William Joyce, Michael Watt, Henry A.
Cosgrave, James Keating, Matthew Whitty, Patrick Joseph
Crumley, Patrick King, Joseph Wiles, Rt. Hon, Thomas
Devlin, Joseph Lambert, Richard (Wilts, Cricklade) Williams, Penry (Middlesbrough)
Dillon, John Lundon, Thomas Wilson, W. T. (Westhoughton)
Doris, William Nolan, Joseph
Flavin, Michael Joseph Nugent, J. D. (College Green) TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—Mr.
Gwynn, Stephen Lucius (Galway) O'Connor, John (Kildare, N.) Patrick O'Brien and Mr. Boland
Hackett, John O'Connor, T. P. (Liverpool)
Agg-Gardner, Sir James Tynte Fletcher, John Samuel Nuttall, Harry
Ainsworth, Sir John Stirling Foster, Philip Staveley O'Neill, Capt. Hon. H. (Antrim, Mid)
Archdale, Lieut. E. M. Galbraith, Samuel Orde-Powlett, Hon. W. G. A.
Armitage, Robert Grant, J. A. Parker, James (Halifax)
Baldwin, Stanley Greenwood, Sir G. G. (Peterborough) Parkes, Ebenezer
Barnes, Bt. Hon. George N. Greenwood, Sir Hamar (Sunderland) Pearce, Sir Robert (Staffs, Leek)
Barnett, Captain R. W. Gretton, John Pennefather, De Fonblanque
Barran, Rowland Hurst (Leeds, N.) Guest, Hon. Frederick E. (Dorset, E.) Perkins Walter F.
Barrie, H. T. GuInness, Hon. Rupert (Essex, S.E.) Peto, Basil Edward
Bathurst, Col. Hon. A. B. (Glouc, E.) Hamilton, C. G. C. (Ches., Altrincham) Pratt, J. W
Bathurst, Capt. C. (Wilts, Wilton) Hanson, Charles Augustin Pryce-Jones, Colonel E.
Seek, Arthur Cecil Hardy, Rt. Hon. Laurence Radford, Sir George Heynes
Bellairs, Commander C. W. Harmsworth, Cecil (Luton, Beds) Rees, G. C. (Carnarvonshire, Arton)
Bliss, Joseph Harmsworth, R. L. (Caithness-shire) Richardson, Arthur (Rotherham)
Boles, Lieut.-Colonel Dennis Fortescue Harris, Henry Percy (Paddington, S.) Roberts, George H. (Norwich)
Bowerman, Rt. Hon. C. W. Herbert, General Sir Ivor (Mon., S.) Roberts, Sir J. H. (Denbighs)
Boyton, James Hewart, Sir Gordon Roberts, S. (Sheffield, Ecclesall)
Brace, Rt. Hon. William Hills, John Waller Robinson, Sidney
Brookes, Warwick Hinds, John Rutherford, Sir John (Lancs., Darwen)
Broughton, Urban Hanlon Hohler, Gerald Fitzroy Samuel, Samuel (Wandsworth)
Brunner, John F. L. Hope, James Fitzalan (Sheffield) Samuels, Arthur W.
Butcher, John George Hunt, Major Rowland Seely, Lt.-Col. Sir C. H. (Mansfield)
Carnegie, Lieut.-Col. D. G. Illingworth, Albert H. Smith, Rt. Hon. Sir F. E. (Walton)
Cater, John Jardine, Ernest (Somerset, East) Starkey, John R.
Cave, Rt. Hon. Sir George Jones, Edgar (Merthyr Tydvil) Stewart, Gersliom
Cawley, Rt. Hon. Sir Frederick Jones, J. Towyn (Carmarthen, East) Strauss, Edward A. (Southwark, West)
Cecil, Lord Hugh (Oxford University) Jones, William S. Glyn- (Stepney) Sykes, Sir Mark (Hull, Central)
Chaloner, Colonel R. G. W. Kellaway, Frederick George Taylor, Theodore C. (Radcliffe)
Clyde, J. Avon Law, Rt. Hon. A. Bonar (Bootle) Thomas, J. H.
Coats, Sir Stuart A. (Wimbledon) Lloyd, George Butler (Shrewsbury) Thomas-Stanford, Charles
Cochrane, Cecil Algernon Locker-Lampson, G. (Salisbury) Tickler, T. G.
Collins, Sir W. (Derby) Lonsdale, Sir John Brownlee Valentia, Viscount
Cornwall, Sir Edwin A. Lowther, Brig.-Gen. H. C. (Appleby) Warde, Colonel C. E. (Kent, Mid)
Cory, James Herbert (Cardiff) Mackinder, Halford J. Weston, J. W.
Cowan, W. H. Macmaster, Donald Whiteley, Herbert J.
Craig, Col. James (Down, E.) Macnamara, Rt. Hon, Dr. T. J. Williams, Aneurin (Durham, N.W.)
Craik, Sir Henry McNeill, Ronald (Kent, St. Augustine's) Williams, Col. Sir Robert (Dorset, W.)
Currle, George W. Maicolm, Ian Wilson, Rt. Hon. J. W. (Worcs., N.)
Dairymple, Hon. H. H. Mallalieu, Frederick William Wing, Thomas Edward
Daiziel, Rt. Hon. Sir J. H. (Kirkcaldy) Millar, James Duncan Young, William (Perthshire, East)
Denniss, E. R. B. Mond, Rt. Hon. Sir Alfred Younger, Sir George
Dixon, C. H. Morgan, George Hay
Duke, Rt. Hon. Henry Edward Munro, Rt. Hon. Robert TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—
Duncan, Sir J. Hastings (Yorks, Otley) Neville, Reginald J. N. Lord Edmund Talbot and Mr. Primrose
Tell, Arthur Nicholson, Sir Charles N. (Doncaster)
Ferens, Rt. Hon. Thomas Robinson Nield, Herbert

and Men, not exceeding 50,000, be employed for the Sea and Coastguard Services, for the year ending on the 31st day of March, 1917."


This is a Supplementary Estimate for 1916–17. We are authorised to raise 350,000, but we have already gone beyond that, and we now come to Parliament for the necessary authority. That is the maximum number we are entitled to raise, and we shall continue to join these men. If our requirements necessitate a further provision we shall, of course, have to bring in a Supplementary Estimate.

Question put, and agreed to.

Motion made and Question proposed, "That a Supplementary sum, not exceeding £10, be granted to His Majesty, to defray the Charge which will come in course of payment during the year ending on the 31st day of March, 1917, for additional Expenditure on the Wages, etc., of Officers, Seamen, Boys, Coastguard, and Royal Marines."


This is a Supplmentary Estimate for 1916 –17, the result of the Token Vote system. I explained in full detail on March 1st last year the reasons for a precisely similar Vote. We are authorised in Token Estimates to spend £100 under each Vote, and these amount to £1,700 in all. We estimate to receive not £l,700, but £17,000,000. To use that, we must get Parliamentary sanction, and for that purpose we bring this Vote before the House as a Token Vote of £10.

Question put, and agreed to.

Resolutions to be reported To-morrow; Committee to sit again To-morrow.

Back to