HC Deb 15 May 1916 vol 82 cc1145-7

Can the President of the Local Government Board say whether it is intended to sit late to-night, and how far he intends to go with the Military Service Bill?


The hour to which we shall sit depends, of course, on what happens in the Debate. The Government propose to finish the Report stage of the Bill tonight, and we hope to take the Third Reading also. There are really, if you eliminate the mass of Amendments standing in the name of one hon. Member, only two or three outstanding questions, one of which was debated in Committee, and, having regard to the great urgency of the matter, I hope the House will assent to our

finishing the Report stage and taking the Third Reading to-night.


Does the right hon. Gentleman realise that a good part of the Bill was discussed in Committee in the early hours of the morning; and, in view of the great public interest taken in the remaining points, can he see his way to give another day?


What my hon. Friend has said is the strongest argument in favour of our proceeding at once with the consideration of the Bill.

Motion made, and Question put, "That the Proceedings on Government Business be not interrupted this night under the Standing Order (Sittings of the House), and may be entered upon at any time though opposed."—[Mr. McKenna.]

The House divided: Ayes, 163; Noes, 29.

Division No. 15.] AYES. [3.37 p.m.
Amery, L. C. M. S. Gardner, Ernest Montagu, Rt. Hon. E. S.
Ashley, Wilfrid W. Goddard, Rt. Hon. Sir Daniel Ford Morgan, George Hay
Baird, John Lawrence Grant, James Augustus Morton, Alpheus Cleophas
Baldwin, Stanley Greig, Colonel J. W. Murray, Major Hon. Arthur C.
Banbury, Rt. Hon. Sir F. G. Hamilton, C. G. C. (Ches., Altrincham) Neville, Reginald J. N.
Barnes, Rt. Hon. George N. Hardy, Rt. Hon. Laurence Newdegate, F. A.
Barrie, H. T. Harmsworth, Cecil (Luton, Beds) Newman, John R. P.
Bathurst, Col. Hon. A. B. (Glouc., E.) Harris, Henry Percy (Paddington, S.) Nicholson, Sir Charles N. (Doncaster)
Beale, Sir William Phipson Haslam, Lewis Parker, James (Halifax)
Beck, Arthur Cecil Helme, Sir Norval Watson Pearce, Robert (Staffs, Leek)
Bellairs, Commander C. W. Henderson, Rt. Hon. Arthur (Durham) Pennefather, De Fonblanque
Benn, Arthur Shirley (Plymouth) Hewins, William Albert Samuel Phillips, Sir Owen (Chester)
Bentinck, Lord H. Cavendish- Hibbert, Sir Henry F. Pretyman, Ernest George
Bird, Alfred Hinds, John Price, Sir Robert J. (Norfolk, E.)
Blair, Reginald Hobhouse, Rt. Hon. Charles E. H. Primrose, Hon. Neil James
Bowden, Major G. R. Harland Hohler, Gerald Fitzroy Prothero, Rowland Edmund
Bowerman, Charles W. Holmes, Daniel Turner Rawlinson, John Frederick Peel
Brace, William Houston, Robert Paterson Rea, Walter Russell (Scarborough)
Brookes, Warwick Howard, Hon. Geoffrey Rees, Sir J. D.
Broughton, Urban Hanlon Hughes, Spencer Leigh Reid, Rt. Hon. Sir George H.
Brunner, John F. L. Hunter, Sir Charles Rodk. Remnant, James Farquharson
Bryce, John Annan Illingworth, Albert H. Roberts, Charles H. (Lincoln)
Burdett-Coutts, W. Ingleby, Holcombe Roberts, S. (Sheffield, Ecclesall)
Burgoyne, Alan Hughes Jackson, Lieut.-Col. Hon. F. S. Robertson, Rt. Hon. John M.
Burn, Colonel C. R. Jacobsen, Thomas Owen Robinson, Sidney
Carew, Charles R. S. (Tiverton) Jardine, Ernest (Somerset, E.) Roe, Sir Thomas
Carlile, Sir Edward Hildred Jardine, Sir J. (Roxburgh) Rowlands, James
Cassel, Felix Jones, J. Towyn (Carmarthen, East) Rutherford, Watson, (L'pool, W. Derby)
Cator, John Jones, William S. Glyn- (Stepney) Samuel, Rt. Hon. H. L. (Cleveland)
Cecil, Rt. Hon. Lord Robert (Herts, Hitchin) Joynson-Hicks, William Samuel, J. (Stockton-on-Tees)
Chamberlain, Rt. Hon. J. A. Kinloch-Cooke, Sir Clement Scott, A. MacCallum (Glas., Bridgeton)
Churchill, Rt. Hon. Winston S. Knight, Captain Eric Ayshford Shaw, Hon. A.
Coats, Sir Stewart A. (Wimbledon) Law, Rt. Hon. A. Bonar (Bootle) Strauss, Edward A. (Southwark, West)
Cochrane, Cecil Algernon Lee, Arthur Hamilton Sutherland, J. E.
Craig, Col. James (Down, E.) Lloyd, George Butler (Shrewsbury) Swift, Rigby
Craik, Sir Henry Long, Rt. Hon. Walter Sykes, Sir Mark (Hull, Central)
Currie, George W. Lonsdale, Sir John Brownlee Talbot, Lord Edmund
Dalrymple, Hon. H. H. Lowe, Sir F. W. (Birm., Edgbaston) Tennant, Rt. Hon. Harold John
Dalziel, Davison (Brixton) Macdonald, J. M. (Falkirk Burghs) Terrell, George (Wilts, N. W.)
Davies, Timothy (Lincs., Louth) McKenna, Rt. Hon. Reginald Thorne, G. R. (Wolverhampton)
Davies, M. Vaughan- (Cardigan) Mackinder, Halford J. Thorne, Willam (West Ham)
Dixon, C. H. M'Laren, Hon. F. W. S. (Lincs., Spalding) Tickler, T. G.
Dougherty, Rt. Hon. Sir J. B. Macmaster, Donald Toulmin, Sir George
Faber, George Denison (Clapham) Macnamara, Rt. Hon. T. J. Warde, Colonel C. E. (Kent, Mid)
Fell, Arthur Macpherson, James Ian Wardle, George J.
Fenwick, Rt. Hon. Charles Magnus, Sir Philip Warner, Sir Thomas Courtenay T.
Fisher, Rt. Hon. W. Hayes Markham, Sir Arthur Basil Wason, Rt. Hon. E. (Clackmannan)
Flannery, Sir J. Fortescue Mason, James F. (Windsor) Wason, John Cathcart (Orkney)
Forster, Henry William Meux, Sir Hedworth White, J. Dundas (Glasgow, Tradeston)
Foster, Philip Staveley Middlemore, John Throgmorton White, Sir Luke (Yorks, E. R.)
Galbraith, Samuel Mond, Rt. Hon. Sir Alfred Whyte, Alexander F. (Perth)
Williams, Thomas J. Wright, Henry Fitzherbert Yoxall, Sir James Henry
Wilson, W. T. (Westhoughton) Yate, Colonel C. E.
Wood, Rt. Hon. T. McKinnon (Glasgow) Yeo, Alfred William TELLERS FOR THE AYES.
Wortley, Rt. Hon. C. B. Stuart- Younger, Sir George Mr. Gulland and Mr. James Hope.
Anderson, W. C. King, Joseph Ponsonby, Arthur A. W. H.
Arnold, Sydney Lamb, Sir Ernest Henry Pringle, William M. R.
Byles, Sir William Pollard Lambert, Richard (Wilts, Cricklade) Radford, George Heynes
Chancellor, Henry George Lough, Rt. Hon. Thomas Richardson, Thomas (Whitehaven)
Glanville, Harold James M'Curdy, Charles Albert Roch, Walter F.
Harvey, T. E. (Leeds, West) Macdonald, J. Ramsay (Leicester) Snowden, Philip
Holt, Richard Durning Mason, David M. (Coventry) Trevelyan, Charles Philips
John, Edward Thomas Molteno, Percy Alport Whitehouse, John Howard
Jones, Leif (Notts, Rushcliffe) Morrell, Philip
Jowett, Frederick William Nuttall, Harry TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—Mr.
Kenyon, Barnet Outhwaite, R. L. Hogge and Mr. Thomas.