HC Deb 06 July 1916 vol 83 cc1793-4

This Act may be cited as the Police, &c. (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act, 1916.

The Committee divided: Ayes, 55; Noes, 23.

Division No. 32.] AYES. [9.31 p.m.
Acland, Rt. Hon. Francis Dyke Jacobsen, Thomas Owen Pryce-Jones, Colonel E.
Agg-Gardner, Sir James Tynte Jones, Edgar (Merthyr Tydvil) Rea, Walter Russell (Scarborough)
Baird, John Lawrence Lambert, Richard (Wilts, Cricklade) Roberts, Charles H. (Lincoln)
Bellairs, Commander C. W. Layland-Barrett, Sir F. Robertson, Rt. Hon. John M.
Brace, William Lloyd, George Butler (Shrewsbury) Rowlands, James
Brunner, John F. L. Mackinder, Halford J. Salter, Arthur Clavell
Chaloner, Colonel R. G. W. Macnamara, Rt. Hon. Dr. T. J. Samuel, Rt. Hon. H. L. (Cleveland)
Coats, Sir Stuart A. (Wimbledon) Millar, James Duncan Scott, A. MacCallum (Glas., Bridgeton)
Collins, Sir Stephen (Lambeth) Moltene, Percy Alport Spear, Sir John Ward
Dairymple, Hon. H. H. Mond, Rt. Hon. Sir Alfred Stanier, Captain Beville
Dewar, Sir J. A. Morton, Alpheus Cleophas Steel-Maitland, A. D.
Edwards, Sir Francis (Radnor) Newdegate, F. A. Tickler, T. G.
Field, William O'Brien, Patrick (Kilkenny) Valentia, Viscount
Flannery, Sir J. Fortescue Pearce, Robert (Staffs, Leek) Watt, Henry A.
Gilbert, J. D. Perkins, Walter F. Wilson, Rt Hon. J. W. (Worcs, N.)
Greenwood, Sir G. G. (Peterborough) Peto, Basil Edward Wing, Thomas Edward
Guinness, Hon.W.E. (Bury S.Edmunds) Pollock, Ernest Murray
Harvey, T. E. (Leeds, W.) Pratt, J. W. TELLERS FOR THE AYES.—Mr.
Hope, James Fitzalan (Sheffield) Pretyman, Ernest George Gulland and Lord E. Talbot.
Howard, Hon. Geoffrey
Bowerman, Rt. Hon. C. W Goldstone, Frank Wardle, George J.
Bryce, J. Annan Haslam, Lewis Whitehouse, John Howard
Byles, Sir William Pollard Hogge, James Myles Williams, Aneurin (Durham, N.W.)
Cooper, Sir Richard Ashmole King, Joseph Wilson, W. T. (Westhoughton)
Craik, Sir Henry Mason, David M. (Coventry) Yoxall, Sir James Henry
Davies, Ellis William (Eifion) Parker, James (Halifax)
Denniss, E. R. B. Penneather, De Fonblanque TELLERS FOR THE NOES.—
Finney, Samuel Rattan, Peter Wilson Sir Philip Magnus and Mr. Stephen
Fletcher, John Samuel Samuel, Samuel (Wandsworth) Walsh.

I beg to move, at the end of the Clause, to insert as a new Subsection:

"(2) The Factory and Workshop Acts, 1901 to 1911, and Part II. of this Act may be jointly cited as the Factory and Workshop Acts, 1901 to 1916."

Does not the Home Secretary think that the Amendment would, at any rate, strengthen and improve the Clause? It is in that sense that I beg to move the Amendment.


I appreciate the hon. Member's intention, but I am advised that the Amendment is not necessary. Clause 9 of the Bill covers this point. It says:

"This part of this Act shall be construed as one with the Factory and Workshop Acts, 1901 to 1911."

It would not be artistic, so to speak, to say that a Police (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill should be cited as one of the Factory and Workshop Acts.


I beg leave to withdraw the Amendment.

Amendment, by leave, withdrawn.

Question, "That the Clause stand part of the Bill," put, and agreed to.