HC Deb 19 March 1913 vol 50 c1182

Ordered, That a Select Committee be appointed, to whom shall be referred all Petitions presented to the House, with the exception of such as relate to Private Bills; and that such Committee do classify and prepare abstracts of the same, in such form and manner as shall appear to them best suited to convey to the House all requisite information respecting their contents, and do report the same from time to time to the House; and that the reports of the Committee do set forth, in respect of each Petition, the number of signatures which are accompanied by addresses, and which are written on sheets headed in every case by the prayer of the Petition, provided that on every separate sheet after the first the prayer may be reproduced in print or by other mechanical process; that such Committee have power to direct the printing in extenso of such Petitions, or of such parts of Petitions, as shall appear to require it; and that such Committee have power to report their opinion and observations thereupon to the House.

Committee accordingly nominated of Mr. Agar-Robartes, Lord Charles Beresford, Sir William Bull, Mr. Burt, Mr. Charles Craig, Mr. Hackett, Mr. Leicester Harmsworth, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Haydn Jones, Mr. Lloyd, Mr. Marshall, Sir Reginald Pole-Carew, Mr. Reddy, and Mr. Stanier.

Ordered, That Three be the quorum.—[Mr. Gulland.]

Adjourned at Three minutes after Eleven o'clock until to-morrow (Thursday), at Twelve o'clock noon.