HC Deb 08 August 1898 vol 64 cc613-5

Motion made, and Question put— That a sum, not exceeding £182,463, be granted to Her Majesty, to complete the sum necessary to defray the Charge which will come in course of payment during the year

Aird, John Cohen, Benjamin Louis Greene, W. D. (Cambs)
Arnold, Alfred Collings, Rt. Hon. Jesse Gretton, John
Atkinson, Rt. Hon. John Colomb, Sir John C. Ready Greville, Captain
Bagot, Capt. J. FitzRoy Colville, John Gull, Sir Cameron
Balfour, Rt. Hon. A. J. (Manc'r) Cook, Fred. Lucas (Lambeth) Hamilton, Rt. Hon. Lord G.
Banbury, Frederick George Cozens-Hardy, Herbert Hardy Hanbury, Rt. Hon. R. W.
Barton, Dunbar Plunket Curzon, Viscount (Bucks) Heath, James
Bathurst, Hon. Allen Benj. Dickson-Poynder, Sir John P. Helder, Augustus
Bemrose, Sir Henry Howe Douglas, Rt. Hon. A. Akers Henderson, Alexander
Bethell, Commander Drage, Geoffrey Hill, Sir E. Stock (Bristol)
Blundell, Colonel Henry Drucker, A. Holland, Hon. Lionel Raleigh
Bond, Edward Duncombe, Hon. Hubert V. Hornby, William Henry
Boulnois, Edmund Fellowes, Hon. Ailwyn Edw. Howard, Joseph
Brassey, Albert Fergusson, Rt Hn. Sir J. (Manc'r) Hozier, Hon. J. H. C.
Brodrick, Rt. Hon. St. John Finch, George H. Hubbard, Hon. Evelyn
Butcher, John George Finlay, Sir Robert Bannatyne Jenkins, Sir John Jones
Cavendish, R. F. (N. Lancs) Fisher, William Hayes Johnston, Wm. (Belfast)
Cavendish, V. C. W. (Derbysh.) Fison, Frederick William Johnstone, John H. (Sussex)
Cecil, Evelyn (Hertford, E.) Flower, Ernest Joicey, Sir James
Cecil, Lord Hugh (Greenwich) Folkestone, Viscount Kenyon, James
Chaloner, Captain R. G. W. Forwood, Rt. Hon. Sir A. B. Lafone, Alfred
Chamberlain, Rt. Hn. J. (Birm.) Garfit, William Lawrence. Sir E. D. (Corn.)
Chamberlain, J. A. (Worc'r) Gedge, Sydney Lawson, John Grant (Yorks)
Chaplin, Rt. Hon. Henry Gilliat, John Saunders Lea, Sir T. (Londonderry)
Charrington, Spencer Godson, Sir Augustus Fredk. Leigh-Bennett, Henry Currie
Chelsea, Viscount Gorst, Rt. Hon. Sir J. Eldon Llewellyn, E. H. (Somerset)
Clare, Octavius Leigh Goschen, Rt Hn. G. J. (St. Geo's) Lockwood, Lieut.-Col. A. R.
Clough, Walter Owen Goschen, George J. (Sussex) Loder, Gerald Walter Erskine
Cochrane, Hon. T. H. A. E. Gray, Ernest (West Ham) Long, Col. C. W. (Evesham)
Coghill, Douglas Harry Greene, H. D. (Shrewsbury) Long, Rt. Hon. W. (Liverp'l)

ending on the 31st day of March, 1899, for Grants in Aid of the Expenses of the British Protectorates in Uganda and in Central and East Africa, and under the Uganda Railway Act, 1896."

The Committee divided:—Ayes 143; Noes 47.—(Division List No. 305.)

Lorne, Marquess of Penn, John Spencer, Ernest
Lowe, Francis William Phillpotts, Captain Arthur Spicer, Albert
Lowles, John Pierpoint, Robert Stanley, Lord (Lancs)
Lyttelton, Hon. Alfred Provand, Andrew Dryburgh Stirling-Maxwell, Sir J. M.
Macartney, W. G. Ellison Pryce-Jones, Lieut.-Col. Edw. Strauss, Arthur
Maclure, Sir John William Purvis, Robert Sturt, Hon. Humphry N.
McArthur, Chas. (Liverpool) Rasch, Major Frederic Carne Thornton, Percy M.
McKillop, James Ridley, Rt. Hon. Sir M. W. Tomlinson, W. E. Murray
Massey-Mainwaring, Hn. W. F. Robertson, Herbert (Hackney) Ward, Hon. R. A. (Crewe)
Mellor, Colonel (Lancashire) Russell, T. W. (Tyrone) Webster, Sir R. E. (I. of W.)
Mildmay, Francis Bingham Ryder, John Herbert Dudley Welby, Lieut.-Col. A. C. E.
Milton, Viscount Scott, Sir S. (Marylebone, W.) Williams, J. P. (Birm.)
Monk, Charles James Sharpe, William Edward T. Wodehouse, Rt. Hn. E. R. (Bath)
Morton, A. H. A. (Deptford) Sidebotham, J. W. (Cheshire) Woodhouse, Sir J T (Hudd'rsf'ld)
Murray, Rt. Hn. A. G. (Bute) Simeon, Sir Barrington Young, Comm. (Berks, E.)
Myers, William Henry Sinclair, Capt. J. (Forfarsh.)
Nicholson, William Graham Sinclair, Louis (Romford) TELLERS FOR THE AYES—
Nicol, Donald Ninian Skewes-Cox, Thomas Sir William Walrond and Mr. Anstruther.
Palmer, Sir C. M. (Durham) Smith, Hon. W. F. D. (Strand)
Abraham, Wm. (Cork, N. E.) Hayne, Rt. Hon. Chas. Seale- Roberts, John Bryn (Eifion)
Barlow, John Emmott Hazell, Walter Robson, William Snowdon
Bolton, Thomas Dolling Kilbride, Denis Roche, Hon. J. (Kerry, E.)
Brigg, John Knox, Edmund Francis Vesey Strachey, Edward
Caldwell, James Lambert, George Sullivan, Donal (Westmeath)
Cameron, Robert (Durham) Lewis, John Herbert Ure, Alexander
Causton, Richard Knight Lough, Thomas Wallace, Robert (Perth)
Channing, Francis Allston Macaleese, Daniel Walton, Joseph (Barnsley)
Clark, Dr. G. B. (Caithness-sh.) M'Ghee, Richard Wedderburn, Sir William
Courtney, Rt. Hon. L. H. Maddison, Fred. Williams, John C. (Notts)
Dalziel, James Henry Mendl, Sigismund Ferdinand Wilson, H. J. (York, W. R.)
Dilke, Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Morton, E. J. C. (Devonport) Wilson, J. H. (Middlesbro')
Dillon, John Moss, Samuel Woods, Samuel
Doogan, P. C. Moulton, John Fletcher
Foster, Sir W. (Derby Co.) Pickersgill, Edward Hare TELLERS FOR THE NOES—
Griffith, Ellis J. Pirie, Duncan V. Mr. Bayley and Mr. William Jones.
Haldane, Richard Burdon Rickett, J. Compton

Resolutions to be reported this day.

SIR C. DILKE (Gloucester, Forest of Dean)

Will the Leader of the House say in what order he proposes to take the Votes to-morrow?


The first Report of Supply will be that relating to the Votes passed during the present sitting. One reason for that is that we shall be able to take the Local Government Board (Ireland) Vote rather early in the proceedings, and that, I understand, will be the most appropriate Vote for the discussion which the honourable Member for East Mayo wishes to raise on the question of Irish distress.