HC Deb 25 February 1895 vol 30 c1552

Ordered— That a Select Committee he appointed to inquire and Report on the circumstances attending the issue of the Writ for the Attercliffe Division of Sheffield, on the 26th day of June. 1894, and also to inquire into the Law and Practice of Parliament in reference to the Vacating of Seats in the House of Commons, and whether it is desirable that any, and, if so, what, changes should be made therein.

The Committee was accordingly nominated of Mr. Secretary Asquith, Mr. Attorney General, Mr. Balfour, Sir James Carmichael, Mr. Chamberlain, Mr. Curzon, Sir Charles Dilke, Mr. John Ellis, Mr. T. M. Healy, Sir Henry James, Mr. Grant Lawson, Mr. MacNeill, Sir George Osborne Morgan, Sir John Mowbray, and Viscount Wolmer.

Ordered—That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers, and records.

Ordered—That Five be the quorum.—(Mr. Thomas Ellis.)

House Adjourned at Ten minutes after Twelve o'clock.