HC Deb 30 May 1892 vol 5 c222

I beg to ask the Chief Secretary to the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland whether he is aware that the electors of the Parishes of Geevagh and Kimeetray, County Sligo, have to go seven and twelve miles to record their votes; and what steps will be taken to give these people better facilities to record their votes at the forthcoming General Election?


The district polling stations for the Parishes of Geevagh and Kimeetray in the County of Sligo were fixed in 1885 pursuant to the provisions of the Parliamentary Registration (Ireland) Act of that year. There is no power to alter the existing district polling stations, except on a resolution being passed by the Quarter Sessions and Justices of the Peace having jurisdiction in the county.