HC Deb 10 June 1892 vol 5 cc820-1

The Select Committee on the Telegraphs Bill was nominated of—Mr. Chancellor of the Exchequer, Mr. Crilly, Mr. William Cross, Mr. John Ellis, Sir Edward Hill, Mr. Atherley-Jones Mr. Lafone, Mr. Leon, The Postmaster General, Mr. Summers, and Mr. Taylor. Ordered, That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers, and records. Ordered, That Five be the quorum.—(Sir James Fergusson.)

(1.43.) MR. JOHN ELLIS (Nottingham, Rushcliffe)

It is generally understood that two names are to be added, and one of these that of the right hon. Gentleman the Member for Bradford (Mr. Shaw Lefevre). I suppose I may take it that the Committee will not sit until those names are added?


The Committee will not meet for business until after Monday. The Members will meet on Monday to choose the Chairman and to settle the course of procedure. I will communicate with the right hon. Gentleman the Member for Bradford.


Yes; but it is desirable, in settling the course of proceedure, to have the right hon. Gentleman present, and have the benefit of his experience and assistance.


Having regard to the circumstances in which we find ourselves, and the importance of passing the Bill, it is desirable not to lose a day in appointing the Committee. The other names will be added on Monday, and I think the hon. Member may be satisfied with my assurance that business will not be proceeded with until the Committee is complete.