HC Deb 18 July 1889 vol 338 cc732-3

I beg to ask Mr. Attorney General, with reference to portions of the parishes of Llangattock and Llangunnidr which have been hitherto within the geographical county of Brecknock, but which, under Section 50 of the "The Local Government Act, 1888," have been transferred to the administrative County of Monmouth as being within the urban sanitary districts of Ebbw Vale, Rhym- ney, and Tredegar, in that county, and which in consequence have been since April last under the care of the Monmouthshire police, whether for the purposes of magisterial jurisdiction these districts so transferred are still to be considered as forming part of the petty sessional division of Bryn-mawr, to which they formerly belonged, in the County of Brecknock, or whether they have now become part of the petty sessional division to which they are adjacent in the County of Monmouth?


I am informed that prior to the passing of the Local Government Act, 1888, the urban sanitary districts referred to were situate in more than one county, and that as the larger part of the population of each was in the County of Monmouth, under the provisions of Sections 50 (2) and 59 (2) of the Act of 1888, the whole of each district became part of the County of Monmouth for the purposes of the Act. There is nothing in the Act as I read it to annex them to any particular petty sessional division, but as it is desirable that this should be done as soon as possible, the justices can make arrangements under 9 George IV., c. 43, 6 and 7 William IV., c. 121, and 22 and 23 Vict, c. 65.