HC Deb 28 February 1889 vol 333 c684

Ordered, That a Select Committee be appointed to inquire into, and report upon, the operation of section 30 of "The Friendly Societies' Act, 1875," as amended by subsequent Acts, and into the organisation or general condition of Societies and Companies to which the said section applies, and to suggest what amendment of the Law (if any) is required to ensure the better management of such Societies and Companies, and the more complete protection of the interests of their members.

Ordered, That the Committee do consist of Twenty-one Members:—The Committee was accordingly nominated of,—Mr. Thomas Fielden, Lord Francis Hervey, Mr. Samuel Hoare, Mr. Howorth, Mr. Wootton Isaacson, Mr. W. F. Lawrence, Sir Herbert Maxwell, Mr. Norton, Mr. Egerton Hubbard, Mr. A. H. Brown, Mr. James Caldwell, Mr. Bradlaugh, Dr. Clark, Mr. Fenwick, Sir Henry Roscoe, Mr. W. B. Rowlands, Mr. Herbert Gladstone, Mr. F. S. Stevenson, Mr. James Stuart, Mr. P. J. Foley, and Mr. Conway.

Ordered, That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers, and records.

Ordered, That Five be the quorum.—(Mr. Akers-Douglas).

House adjourned at Five minutes after Twelve o'clock.