HC Deb 06 March 1888 vol 323 cc366-7
MR. DILLON(for Mr. M'CARTAN) (Down, S.)

asked the Chief Secretary to the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, Whether, considering the large number of originating notices to fix fair rents served on the Land Commission by farmers residing near Castlewellan, in the Unions of Kilkeel, Banbridge, and Downpatrick, and also by farmers residing near Rathfurland, in the Unions of Newry, Kilkeel, and Banbridge, there will be sittings of the County Down Sub-Commission held at Castlewellan and Rathfurland for the accommodation of the farmers living near these towns; whether he can now state at what time sittings of a Sub-Commission will be held at Newtownards and Downpatrick respectively to fix fair rents on the estates of the Marquess of Downshire, the Marquess of Londonderry, and Colonel Lords; and, if he can give the names of the gentlemen who will constitute this Sub-Commission? The hon. Gentleman added: I wish also to ask the right hon. Gentleman, whether it is a fact that the Lord Lieutenant has recently issued a Circular to his tenants, urging them to buy their farms at 20 years' purchase on the old rents; and, whether, this being a fact, he will not expedite the sitting of the Sub-Commission, in order that these tenants may have judicial rents fixed?


(who replied) said: I am not aware of any Circular having been recently issued by the Lord Lieutenant on the lines indicated by the hon. Gentleman. The Land Commissioners inform me that a Sub-Commission will commence its sitting for County Down at Banbridge on the 4th of April for cases in the Poor Law Unions of Banbridge and Downpatrick, and will sit to hear cases in Castlewellan during that month. The Sub-Commission will also sit in Rathfurland, if it is found to be more convenient for the parties having cases in Court when the list for that district is issued. There will be a sitting for the Poor Law Union of Newtownards in May next. Some cases on the estates of the Marquess of Down shire and Colonel Forde will appear on the April list; but none on the estate of the Marquess of Londonderry. As already stated, the Assistant Commissioners will be Messrs. Greer, Guiry, Johnston, Mowbray, and O'Callaghan.