HC Deb 18 June 1888 vol 327 c563

Ordered, That a Committee be appointed to inquire into and report on (1) the administration of Trustee Savings Banks under "The Trustee Savings Banks Act, 1863;" (2) the powers, duties, and liabilities of the Trustees, Managers, and Officers of Trustee Savings Banks; (3) the relations of Trustee Savings Banks to the Commissioners for the Reduction of the National Debt, the Registrar of Friendly Societies, and other Offices or Departments of the Government, so far as these relations affect the internal management of the affairs of the said Banks; and (4) the alleged assumption by certain Trustee Savings Banks of designations calculated to mislead depositors.

Ordered, That the Committee do consist of Seventeen Members.

The Committee was accordingly nominated of,—Mr. Shaw Lefevre, Mr. A. H. Acland, Mr. John Ellis, Dr. Clark, Mr. Howell, Mr. Kenrick, Mr. Cameron Corbett, Mr. Stuart-Wortley, Mr. Whitley, Mr. Brodie Hoare, Mr. R. G. Mowbray, Sir John Dorington, Mr. James Campbell, Mr. Bartley, Sir John Kennaway, Mr. William Redmond, and Mr. Hayden, with power to send for persons, papers, and records.

Ordered, That Five be the quorum.—(Mr. Chancellor of the Exchequer.)

House adjourned at twenty-five minutes before One o'olock.