HC Deb 05 July 1888 vol 328 c536

Select Committee appointed, "to inquire into and report upon the operation of section thirty of 'The Friendly Societies Act, 1875,' as amended by subsequent Acts, and into the organisation or general condition of Societies and Companies to which the said section applies, and to suggest what Amendment of the Law (if any) is required to ensure the better management of such Societies and Companies, and the more complete protection of the interests of their members."

Ordered, That the Committee do consist of Seventeen Members.

The Committee was accordingly nominated of,—Sir Herbert Maxwell, Mr. Fielden, Mr. Norton, Mr. Wootton Isaacson, Mr. Samuel Hoare, Mr. W. F. Lawrence, Mr. Howorth, Lord Francis Hervey, Mr. Caldwell, Mr. Brown, Sir Henry Roscoe, Mr. Bradlaugh, Mr. Fenwick, Mr. Bowen Rowlands, Dr. Clark, Mr. Foley, and Mr. Conway, with power to send for persons, papers, and records.

Ordered, That Five be the quorum.—(Mr. Jackson.)

House adjourned at a quarter before One o'clock.