HC Deb 17 September 1886 vol 309 cc777-8
MR. T. P. GILL (Louth, S.)

asked the Secretary to the Treasury, If he could state in what year did it become impossible to form a quorum of the Brehon Law Commission through decease of its members; in what year was the Commission re-constituted; who are its present Members; and, what Reports has the Commission issued since its re-constitution?


I have not the information to answer the first Question put by the hon. Member. The Commission was reconstituted in 1884. It present Members are the Lord Chancellor, the Master of the Rolls, Dr. Graves, the Bishop of Limerick, and Mr. Justice O'Brien. I cannot find that the Commission has issued any Report since it was re-constituted.

MR. M. J. KENNY (Tyrone, Mid)

I would like to ask the hon. Gentleman if he is aware how many Members of the re-constituted Commission understand the Irish language?


I am afraid that is a Question I cannot answer.