HC Deb 12 May 1884 vol 288 c22

asked the Secretary to the Admiralty, Whether he will state to the House the names of the members of the Committee appointed by the Admiralty to inquire into the conditions of Shipbuilding by Contract, and into the system of repairing Ships; and, the terms of the reference to such Committee?


The Committee to which my hon. Friend refers has been appointed To inquire into the conditions under which contracts are invited for the building or repairing of ships, including their engines, for Her Majesty's Navy; and into the mode in which repairs and refits of ships are effected in Her Majesty's dockyards. The Members of the Committee are the Earl of Ravensworth, who is Chairman, Sir Daniel Gooch, M.P., Captain Codrington, R.N., C.B., Mr. Norwood, M.P., Mr. C. M. Palmer, M.P., Mr. John Burns, Mr. T. H. Ismay, and Mr. Samuda.