HC Deb 10 March 1881 vol 259 cc738-9

asked the Secretary of State for War, Whether he will state what will be the constitution of the New Ordnance Committee, and what duties will be assigned to it?


If my right hon. Friend will move for the Instructions to the New Ordnance Committee, I shall have no objection to presenting them. The Committee will be constituted as follows:—President, General Sir Collingwood Dickson, R.A.; Vice President, Rear Admiral Howard; Members, Captain Singer, R.N.; Colonel Smyth, R.A.; Captain Bridge, R.N.; Colonel Nugent, R.E.; Colonel M'Farlane, R.A. (ex-officio as Ordnance Consulting Officer for India); Major Noble, R.A.; Mr. Bramwell, C.E.; and Mr. Barlow, C.E.; Major Ellis, R.A., Secretary, and Cap- tain Bainbridge, R.A., Assistant Secretary. The Committee's duties will begin on the 1st of April.