HC Deb 30 August 1880 vol 256 cc654-5

begged to ask the Attorney General a Question, of which he had given private Notice, Whether he could give the House to-day the names of the Commisioners whom it is proposed to nominate on Wednesday next for the Commissions to inquire into corrupt practices at the places to which Commissioners would issue, as it would be satisfactory that the names should be known before the discussion came on?


in reply, said that eight Commissions would be appointed, and that their names would be mentioned in the Motion brought before the House. He proposed to move for the Commissions on Wednesday next. The names of the towns and the Commissioners would be as follows:—1. Gloucester.—John Bridge Aspinall, Q.C; William Robert McConnell, Francis William Raikes. 2. Canterbury.—Arthur Charles, Q.C.; Albert Venn Dicey, Robert Samuel Wright. 3. Chester.—Arthur Hammond Collins, Q.C.; Alfred Tristram Lawrence, Frank Lockwood. 4. Macclesfield. — Charles George Merewether, Q.C.; John Shortt, Albert Childers Meysey-Thompson. 5. Knaresborough. — Charles Marshall Griffith, Q.C.; Henry Mason Bompas, Q.C.; Charles Crompton. 6. Boston.— James William Bowen, Q.C.; Richard Henn Collins, William Alexander Lindsay. 7. Oxford.—Lewis William Cave, Q.C.; Hugh Cowie, Edward Ridley. 8. Sandwich.—William Haworth Holl, Q.C.; Richard Edward Turner, Erancis Henry Jeune.