HC Deb 04 May 1874 vol 218 cc1591-2

asked the Chief Secretary for Ireland, What Ancient Churches, Pound Towers, and other remains have been constituted National Monuments under the twenty-fifth section of the Irish Church Act, and what funds have been appropriated by the Commissioners for their preservation?


Sir, the ecclesiastical ruins on the Rock of Cashel are the only ancient remains which have been as yet constituted national monuments under the 25th section of the Irish Church Act. For their preservation a sum of £7,100 has been lodged by the Church Temporalities Commissioners to the credit of the Board of Public Works in Ireland, and that Board has invested the amount in Government funds. The Church Temporalities Commissioners have communicated their intention to vest in the Board of Works for maintenance, under the 25th section, with a view to their preservation—1, all the ruins of ecclesiastical buildings standing in the valley of Glendalough, County Wicklow; 2, Killamery stone cross; County Kilkenny; 3, two stone crosses at Kilkispean; 4, stone cross at Kilkeeran; 5, Donaghmore stone cross, County Tyrone; 6, Donaghmore Round Tower and Church, County Meath; 7, Gallerns Church, County Kerry; 8, Killala round tower, County Mayo; 9, Ardfert Cathedral and ruins of two churches in the same enclosure, County Kerry; 10. Ardmore Cathedral, round tower, and St. Declan's tomb, in the same enclosure. County Waterford; 11, Devenish round tower and church, County Fermanagh; 12, Monasterboice Church, round tower, and three crosses, County Louth; and 13, St. Columb House, Kells, County Meath.