HC Deb 18 May 1865 vol 179 cc555-6

COLONEL FRENCH moved that the Select Committee on the Shannon River do consist of the following Members:—Colonel French, Mr. Laird, Mr. Peel, Mr. Ormsby Gore, Captain Jervis, Lord Dunkellin, The O'Conor Don, Mr. Cox, Mr. Agar-Ellis, Mr. Dawson-Damer, Sir Edward Dering, Mr. Pollard-Urquhart, Mr. D. Fortescue, Lord Naas, and Colonel Vandeleur. He said he understood that the Government objected to the Committee as he had chosen it. He would not be dictated to, and as the constitution of the Committee 'was as fair as possible he hoped the House would accept his nomination.

Motion made, and Question proposed, "That Colonel French be one of the Members of the Select Committee."


said, that the Government were willing that the hon. and gallant Gentleman should nominate eight Members of the Committee, but it was only reasonable that the Government should nominate the other seven Members.

MR. CRAWFORD moved the adjournment of the debate.

Motion made, and Question put, "That the Debate be now adjourned."—(Mr. Crawford.)

The House divided:—Ayes 34; Noes 17: Majority 17.

Debate adjourned till Monday next.


then moved the adjournment of the House.

Motion made, and Question proposed, "That this House do now adjourn."—(Colonel French.)

Motion, by leave, withdrawn.

House adjourned at half after Two o'clock.