HC Deb 18 March 1850 vol 109 cc1081-3

, pursuant to notice, moved that the Committee of Inquiry as to the oaths of Members do consist of twenty-one Members. He wished, as Mr. Disraeli would not be able to attend, that the name of Mr. Herries be substituted for that of Mr. Disraeli.


was surprised that the name of the hon. Member for Youghal, who had given much attention to this subject, had not been included in the proposed Committee.


said, he should object to the list of the Committee, and divide the House on it, unless he received a distinct assurance that the Committee was not to consider and report upon the admissibility or non-admissibility of Jews, otherwise than by Bill. It ought to be confined to the objects stated in the Motion.


could not answer for the Committee, but so far as the terms of the Motion went, and so far as his own intentions went, the Committee would be one like that which sat in the case of Mr. Pease—simply a Committee to report on Acts of Parliament and precedents. It would consist of twenty-one Members, being six beyond the usual number.


moved that the number be twenty-two.


objected to the constitution of the Committee. There were thirteen Members of it favourable to the Jewish claims, and only eight unfavourable. He should, therefore, meet the Motion to add one more to the number of those who were favourable with a decided negative.


observed, that if one hon. Member moved to have a Committee of twenty-two, another hon. Member might propose twenty-three. It was better to adhere to the numbers usually appointed, namely, fifteen, or occasionally twenty-one.

Motion made, and Question proposed, "That the Committee do consist of twenty-one Members. "

Amendment proposed, to leave out "twenty-one," and insert "twenty-two," instead thereof.

Question, "That 'twenty-one' stand part of the Question," put, and agreed to.


wished the hon. Member he had named placed on the Committee, because that hon. Gentleman knew more of the subject than any one else. He should move that the name of the Earl of Arundel and Surrey be omitted; not that he had any objection to the noble Earl personally, but that he might make the substitute he had proposed. If he had any support he would divide the House.

The Earl of Arundel and Surrey, Lord J. Russell. Sir R. Peel, Sir J. Graham, Mr. Gladstone, Mr. Goulburn, Mr. W. Wynn, Sir R. H. Inglis, Mr. Attorney General, The Lord Advocate, Sir F. Thesiger, Mr. Cockburn, and Mr. Henley, were nominated Members of the Committee.

Motion made, and Question put, "That Mr. Hume be one other Member of the Committee."

The House divided:—Ayes 47; Noes 16; Majority 31.

Mr. Napier, Mr. Roebuck, Mr. Turner, Mr. W. Patten, Mr. Walpole, and Mr. Wood, were nominated other Members of the Committee.

Power to send for persons, papers, and records; Five to be a quorum.