HC Deb 16 June 1848 vol 99 c792

On the Motion that the Speaker do leave the chair, for the House to resolve itself into Committee on the Navigation Laws,


expressed a hope that the Motion would not be pressed that night. Many Gentlemen wished to take part in the debate, and several were absent, not expecting it on.

After some conversation,

The House divided:—Ayes 119; Noes 32: Majority 87.

List of the AYES.
Adair, H. E. Hay, Lord J.
Adderley, C. B. Hayter, W. G.
Aglionby, H. A. Headlam, T. E.
Alcock, T. Henry, A.
Armstrong, Sir A. Hindley, C.
Armstrong, R. B. Hobhouse, T. B.
Bellew, R. M. Hume, J.
Berkeley, hon. Capt. Keogh, W.
Bernal, R. Kershaw, J.
Blewitt, R. J. King, hon. P. J. L.
Bowring, Dr. Labouchere, rt. hon. H.
Boyd, J. Lewis, G. C.
Brotherton, J. Lincoln, Earl of
Bruce, Lord E. Loch, J.
Buller, C. Lushington, C.
Bunbury, E. H. Macnaghten, Sir E.
Burke, Sir T. J. M'Gregor, J.
Campbell, hon. W. F. Maher, N. V.
Carew, W. H. P. Martin, J.
Chaplin, W. J. Martin, S.
Clerk, rt. hon. Sir G. Matheson, Col.
Clifford, H. M. Maule, rt. hon. F.
Cooks, T. S. Melgund, Visct.
Courtenay, Lord Milner, W. M. E.
Cowper, hon. W. F. Mitchell, T. A.
Devereux, J. T. Moffatt, G.
Duke, Sir J. Monsell, W.
Dundas, Adm. Morgan, H. K. G.
East, Sir J. B. Morison, Sir W.
Egerton, Sir P. Morris, D.
Elliot, hon. J. E. Mulgrave, Earl of
Evans, J. O'Brien, J.
Fordyce, A. D. Paget, Lord A.
Forster, M. Pearson, C.
Fox, W. J. Perfect, R.
Freestun, Col. Peto, S. M.
Gladstone, rt. hn. W. E. Philips, Sir G. R.
Glyn, G. C. Pigott, F.
Goulburn, right hon. H. Pinney, W.
Grace, O. D. J. Pugh, D.
Granger, T. C. Raphael, A.
Grey, rt. hon. Sir G. Reynolds, J.
Grosvenor, Lord R. Ricardo, J. L.
Hanmer, Sir J. Ricardo, O.
Hawes, B. Romilly, Sir J.
Russell, Lord J. Thompson, Col.
Russell, hon. E. S. Thornely, T.
Rutherfurd, A. Towneley, C.
Seymer, H. K. Trelawny, J. S.
Seymour, Sir II. Villiers, hon. C.
Shafto, R. D. Vivian, J. H.
Sheil, rt. hon. R. L. Ward, H. G.
Shelburne, Earl of Watkins, Col.
Somerville, rt. hn. Sir W. Westhead, J. P.
Spearman, H. J. Wood, rt. hon. Sir C.
Stansfield, W. R. C. Wood, W. P.
Strickland, Sir G. Wortley, rt. hon. J. S.
Sullivan, M. Wyld, J.
Talfourd, Serj. TELLERS.
Tancred, H. W. Tufnell, H.
Tennent, R. J. Hill, Lord M.
List of the NOES.
Arkwright, G. Martin, C. W.
Baines, M. T. Masterman, J.
Baring, T. Moore, G. H.
Benett, J. O'Brien, Sir L.
Bentinck, Lord G. Renton, J. C.
Broadley, H. Robinson, G. R.
Bruce, C. L. C. Sandars, G.
Burrell, Sir C. M. Stephenson, R.
Christy, S. Stuart, J.
Disraeli, B. Thompson, Ald.
Fuller, A. E. Thornhill, G.
Hamilton, Lord C. Tyrell, Sir J. T.
Herries, rt. hon. J. C. Villiers, hon. F. W. C.
Hildyard, R. C. Vyse, H. R. H.
Hotham, Lord
Johnstone, Sir J. TELLERS.
Jolliffe, Sir W. G. H. Newdegate, C. N.
Lockhart, W. Henley, J. W.

House in Committee.

Resolutions read.


must express his regret at the course the Government had thought fit to pursue on this subject. It was agreed on all hands that this was a question of enormous importance. He (Mr. Stuart) considered that the Government had acted most improperly in trying to force on the discussion of this subject, and begged to move that the Chairman do now report progress, and on that question he would divide.

After a short debate,

On the question that the Chairman do report progress:—Ayes 48; Noes 144: Majority 96.

List of the AYES.
Anstey, T. C. Edwards, H.
Archdall, Capt. Filmer, Sir E.
Arkwright, G. Fuller, A. E.
Baldock, E. H. Gwyn, H.
Bentinck, Lord G. Halsey, T. P.
Boldero, H. G. Hamilton, Lord C.
Broadley, H. Henley, J. W.
Buck, L. W. Herries, rt. hon. J. C.
Burrell, Sir C. M. Hildyard, R. C.
Cobbold, J. C. Hildyard, T. B. T.
Davies, D. A. S. Hood, Sir A.
Disraeli, B. Hotham, Lord
Dundas, G. Hudson, G.
Ingestre, Visct. Sandars, G.
Jolliffe, Sir W. G. H. Somerset, Capt.
Knox, Col. Spooner, R.
Lockhart, W. Stephenson, R.
Masterman, J. Thompson, Ald.
Miles, W. Trollope, Sir J.
Moore, G. H. Tyrell, Sir J. T.
Morgan, O. Villiers, hon. F. W. C.
Neeld, J. Vyse, R. H. R. H.
Palmer, R. Walsh, Sir J. B.
Renton, J. C. TELLERS.
Repton, G. W. J. Stuart, J.
Robinson, G. R. Newdegate, C. N.
List of the NOES.
Adair, H. E. Heneage, E.
Adair, R. A. S. Henry, A.
Adderley, C. B. Hindley, C.
Aglionby, H. A. Hobhouse, T. B.
Alcock, T. Hollond, R.
Anson, hon. Col. Howard, hon. C. W. G.
Armstrong, Sir A. Hume, J.
Armstrong, R. B. Jervis, Sir J.
Arundel and Surrey Earl of Keogh, W.
Kershaw, J.
Bagshaw, J. King, hon. P. J. L.
Bellew, R. M. Labouchere, rt. hon. H.
Berkeley, hon. Capt. Lascelles, hon. W. S.
Bouverie, hon. E. P. Lewis, G. C.
Bowring, Dr. Lincoln, Earl of
Boyd, J. Locke, J.
Boyle, hon. Col. M'Gregor, J.
Brotherton, J. Maher, N. V.
Bruce, Lord E. Martin, J.
Buller, C. Martin, S.
Campbell, hon. W. F. Matheson, A.
Carew, W. H. P. Matheson, Col.
Carter, J. B. Maule, rt. hon. F.
Childers, J. W. Melgund, Visct.
Christy, S. Milner, W. M. E.
Clerk, rt. hon. Sir G. Mitchell, T. A.
Clifford, H. M. Monsell, W.
Cobden, R. Morgan, H. K. G.
Cocks, T. S. Morpeth, Visct.
Coke, hon. E. K. Morris, D.
Courtenay, Lord Mostyn, hon. E. M. L.
Craig, W. G. Mulgrave, Earl of
Dalrymple, Capt. O'Brien, J.
Devereux, J. T. Ogle, S. C. H.
Douglas, Sir C. E. Paget, Lord A.
Duff, G. S. Paget, Lord G.
Duke, Sir J. Palmerston, Visct.
Dundas, Adm. Parker, J.
Ebrington, Visct. Perfect, R.
Elliot, hon. J. E. Peto, S. M.
Estcourt, J. B. B. Pigott, F.
Evans, J. Pinney, W.
Fordyce, A. D. Pugh, D.
Forster, M. Pusey, P.
Fox, W. J. Raphael, A.
Freestun, Col. Reynolds, J.
Glyn, G. C. Ricardo, J. L.
Grace, O. D. J. Ricardo, O.
Granger, T. C. Rich, H.
Grey, rt. hon. Sir G. Robartes, T. J. A.
Haggitt, F. R. Romilly, Sir J.
Hallyburton, Lord J. F. Russell, Lord J.
Hanmer, Sir J. Russell, hon. E. S.
Hastie, A. Rutherfurd, A.
Hawes, B. Scully, F.
Hay, Lord J. Seymer, H. K.
Hayter, W. G. Sheil, rt. hon. R. L.
Headlam, T. E. Shelburne, Earl of
Simeon, J. Townshend, Capt.
Smith, rt. hon. R. V. Trelawny, J. S.
Somerville, rt, hon. Sir W. Turner, G. J.
Spearman, H. J. Tynte, Col.
Stansfleld, W. R. C. Vivian, J. H.
Strickland, Sir G. Ward, H. G.
Stuart, Lord D. Watkins, Col.
Sullivan, M. Westenra, hon. J. C.
Talbot, C. R. M. Westhead, J. P.
Talfourd, Serj. Wilson, M.
Tancred, H. W. Wood, rt. hon. Sir C.
Tennent, R. J. Wood, W. P.
Thompson, Col. Wortley, rt. hon. J. S.
Thornely, T. TELLERS.
Towneley, C. Tufnell, H.
Towneley, J. Hill, Lord M.

Some further discussion having ensued, chiefly of a personal and party description, the House then resumed, and the Chairman reported progress.

Committee to sit again.

House adjourned at a quarter past Twelve o'clock.