HC Deb 03 August 1848 vol 100 c1119

House in Committee.

On the 2nd Clause,


reiterated his objections to the Bill. It was an ex post facto measure, violating the great principle of jurisprudence, which declared that no man should be tried twice for the same offence. He moved the omission of the words "made on the spot by the Commissioners."

The Committee divided on the question that the words stand:—Ayes 79; Noes 16: Maiority 63.

List of the NOES.
Arkwright, G. Lygon, hon. Gen.
Bennet, P. Mullings, J. R.
Bentinck, Lord G. Newdegate, C. N.
Dick, Q. Rushout, Capt.
Gwyn, H. Sibthorp, Col.
Henley, J. W. Spooner, R.
Hobhouse, T. B.
Hodgson, W. N. TELLERS.
Hood, Sir A. Anstey, T. C.
Hornby, J. Urquhart, D.

Clause agreed to.

On the 3rd Clause being submitted for consideration.

After two more divisions on Amendments proposed by Mr. ANSTEY,

The House resumed.

Committee to sit again.