HC Deb 31 March 1843 vol 68 c311

Mr. Pusey moved the second reading of the Drainage of Lands Bill, with the view of referring it to a committee upstairs.

Colonel Sibthorp

objected to the further progress of the bill, and declared that he would divide the House.

The House divided on the question that the Bill be read a second time.—Ayes 59; Noes 4: Majority 55.

List of the AYES.
Aglionby, H. A. Graham, rt. hn. Sir J.
Allix, J. P. Greene, T.
Antrobus, E. Hamilton, W. J.
Baring, H. B. Hardy, J.
Barrington, Visct. Henley, J. W.
Bentinck, Lord G. Herbert, hon. S.
Bowring, Dr. Hodgson, R.
Brotherton, J. Hope, G. W.
Bruce, C. L. Hume, J.
Buller, Sir J. Y. Irton, S.
Chetwode, Sir J. Jermyn, Earl
Clayton, R. R. Leicester, Earl of
Clerk, Sir G. Lincoln, Earl of
Colborne, hn. W. N. R. Lockhart, W.
Colvile, C. R. McGeachy, F. A.
Corry, rt. hon. H Martin, C. W.
Cripps, W. Morris, D.
Darby, G. Plumptre, J. P.
Denison, E. B. Repton, G. W.
Dickinson, F. H. Smith, rt. hn. T. B. C.
Douglas, Sir C. E. Stanley, Lord
Eliot, Lord Sutton, hon. H.
Escott, B. Trelawny, J. S.
Farnham, E. B. Trollope, Sir J.
Fellowes, E. Wawn, J. T.
Flower, Sir J. Wood, G. W.
Fremantle, Sir T. Worsley, Lord
Gaskell, J. Milnes Wynn, Sir W. W.
Gordon, hon. Capt. Pusey, P.
Goulburn, rt. hon. H. Palmer, R.
List of the NOES.
Ackers, J.
Borthwick, P. TELLERS.
Ingestre, Visct. Sibthorp, Col.
Stuart, H. Mackenzie, W. F.

The Bill read a second time, and referred to a select committee.

Adjourned at a quarter before one o'clock.