HC Deb 01 March 1843 vol 67 cc116-9

Mr. G. Palmer moved that the Select Committee on Shipwrecks consist of twenty-three.

Mr. Hume

wished to know why in this case the usual course should be departed from.

Mr. H. Lambton

explained, that the reason was that he had complained that the shipping interest of the counties of Durham and Northumberland had not been properly represented in the committee as it was first formed. The same complaint had been made by hon. Members connected with Scotland, Cornwall, and the south of England. He thought, that generally speaking, the number of those composing a committee should be regulated rather by the importance of the subject than by any particular rule—at this moment we had sitting the Paisley and standing order's committees; it was quite clear it was not so necessary to have a larger number of Members upon those committees, as in this case of the shipwreck's committee, which was a subject of such vast importance, and had to inquire besides into the bill of the hon. Member for the city of Durham, which peculiarly affected the interests of the shipping interest all over the kingdom.

Sir G.

Grey said, if the number of the -committee were to be increased, so as adequately to represent all towns connected with the shipping interest, the number might be enlarged ad infinitum. He might as well complain on the part of the South of England, for Portsmouth, Plymouth, Devonport, and Rye, were unrepresented in the proposed committee. It would be much better to adhere to the general rule.

Mr. Hume moved that the committee be confined to fifteen Members.

The Speaker

said, as no committee could consist of more than fifteen Members, unless by a special order of the House, the proposed committee, if the motion were to be rejected, would necessarily consist of that number.

Mr. Hawes

thought, the explanation given by the Speaker was an additional reason for postponing the motion, at least from this day; otherwise, in the event of the motion for increasing the number being lost, the first fifteen names must necessarily form the committee.

The House divided on the question "that the committee" do consist of twenty-three Members—Ayes 85; Noes 90: Majority 5.

List of the AYES.
Acland, T. D. Douglas, Sir H.
A'Court, Capt. Dundas, Admiral
Aldam, W. Eaton, R. J.
Allix, J. P. Egerton, W. T.
Arbuthnott, hon. H. Eliot, Lord
Arkwright, G. Fielden, W.
Ashley, Lord Fielden, J.
Barnard, E. G. Fellowes, E.
Beckett, W. Ferguson, Sir R. A.
Beresford, Major Fitzroy, Capt.
Bernard, Visct. Forbes, W.
Bradshaw, J. Fuller, A. E.
Browne, hon. W. Gill, T.
Brownrigg, J. S. Gladstone, rt. hn. W. E.
Campbell, A. Halford, H.
Chelsea, Visct. Hamilton, W. J.
Chetwode, Sir J. Hanmer, Sir J.
Christopher, R. A. Henley, J. W.
Chute, W. L. W. Hepburn, Sir T. B.
Clive, hon. R. H. Hinde, J. H.
Cochrane, A. Hodgson, R.
Collett, W. R, Hogg, J. W.
Colquhoun, J. C. Hughes, W. B.
Darby, G. Inglis, Sir R. H.
Davies, D. A. S. Irton, S.
Denison, E. B. James, Sir W. C.
Dickinson, F. H. Lambton, H.
Dodd, G. Lowther, hon. Col.
Lygon, hon. Gen. Sheppard, T.
Mahon, Visct. Shirley, E. J.
Mangles, R. D. Smith, A.
Manners, Lord J. Smollett, A.
Martin, C. W. Trevor, hon. G. R.
Norreys, Sir D. J. Trotter, J.
Pechell, Capt. Turner, E.
Pennant, hon. Col. Tyrel, Sir J. T.
Plumridge, Capt. Wallace, R.
Praed, W. T. Wawn, J. T.
Pringle, A. Wortley, hon. J. S.
Pusey, P. Wyndham, Col. C.
Ross, D. R. Wynn, rt. hon. C. W. W.
Round, J. TELLERS.
Rushbrooke, Col. Fremantle, Sir T.
Sandon, Visct. Palmer, G.
List of the NOES.
Adderley, C. B. Lennox, Lord A.
Antrobus, E. Leslie, C. P.
Archbold, R. Lowther, J. H.
Bankes, G. Macaulay, rt. hon. T. B.
Barneby, J. Mackenzie, W. F.
Borthwick, P. Mc Geachy, F. A.
Broadley, H. Marjoribanks, S.
Broadwood, H. Master, T. W. C.
Brotherton, J. Morgan, O.
Bruce, Lord E. Nicholl, rt. hon. J.
Buck, L. W. O'Brien, W. S.
Buller, E. O'Conor, Don
Byng, rt. hon. G. S. Ogle, S. C. H.
Clay, Sir W. Ord, W.
Clayton, R. R. Palmerston, Visct.
Colebroke, Sir T. E. Peel, rt. hon. Sir R.
Cowper, hon. W. F. Philips, G. R.
Craig, W. G. Pollington, Visct.
Dennistoun, J. Ponsonby, hon. C. F. A. C.
Douglas, Sir C. E.
Duncan, Visct. Ponsonby, hon. J. G.
Duncan, G. Protheroe, E.
Ellice, rt. hon. E. Repton, G. W. J.
Ellice, E. Ricardo, J. L.
Elphinstone, H. Roebuck, J. A.
Estcourt, T. G. B. Russell, Lord J.
Flower, Sir J. Scrope, G. P.
Forster, M. Shaw, rt. hon. F.
Gore, hon. R. Shelborne, Earl of
Goulburn, rt. hon. H. Somerset, Lord G.
Greene, T. Stanley, hon. W. O.
Grey, rt. hon. Sir G. Stansfield, W. R. C.
Grogan, E. Strutt, E.
Hallyburton, Lord. J. F. G. Sutton, hon. H. M.
Thornely, T.
Hamilton, Lord C. Townely, J.
Hatton, Capt. Vane, Lord H.
Hay, Sir A. L. Williams, W.
Heathcote, Sir W. Winnington, Sir T. E.
Horsman, E. Wood, B.
Howard, hon. H. Wood, Col. T.
Hutt, W. Wood, G. W.
James, W. Yorke, H. R.
Jones, Capt. Young, J.
Kemble, H.
Knatchbull, rt. hon. Sir E. TELLERS.
Labouchere, rt. hn. H. Hume, J.
Lascelles, hon. W. S. Hawes, J.

Committee to be nominated on the following day.

Back to