HC Deb 31 July 1843 vol 71 c74
Sir J. Graham

moved, that the Speaker do now leave the Chair for the House to Functions into a committee on the Episcopal Functions Bill.

Mr. S. O'Brien

moved as an amendment, that the bill be committed that day three months. The practical tendency of the measure was to give double labour to one bishop, in the event of any of his right rev, brethren being incapable, thereby justifying the inference, that every bishop was able to do double the duty at present imposed on him. The bill had been brought in too late, and they were called upon to legislate upon a most important subject too hastily, and he thought it would be far better to defer all legislation until another Session, when a comprehensive measure for the appointment of suffragan bishops ought to be introduced. He felt bound to protest against the present bill, because he thought its principle was anti-ecclesiastical, and he trusted the House would not agree to it.

Mr. Brotherton

moved that the debate be adjourned. It was unseasonable to go on with it at such an hour (quarter past one o'clock.)

Dr. Nicholl

hoped the hon. Gentleman would not press his motion. In answer to his hon. Friend (Mr. O'Brien) he would say, that his opinions were not in accordance with those of the heads of the Church, who had approved of the bill, and it had passed the House of Lords without opposition.

Mr. Brotherton did not press his motion, and it was negatived; on the question being again proposed, that the Speaker do leave the chair,

Mr. Williams

moved, that the House do adjourn.

The House divided. Ayes 6; Noes 50;—Majority 44.

List of the AYES.
Blackstone, W. S. Wood, B.
Blake, M. J.
Blewitt, R. J. TELLERS,
Brotherton, J. Williams, W.
Trelawny, J. S. Wawn, J. T.
List of the NOES.
Antrobus, E. Lockhart, W.
Arkwright, G. Mc Geachy, F. A.
Boldero, H. G. Manners, Lord J.
Borthwick, P. Martin, C. W.
Clerk, Sir G. Milnes, R. M.
Clive, Visct. Mitchell, T. A.
Cripps, W. Morris, D.
Douglas, Sir C. E. Mundy, E. M.
Duncombe, T. Nicholl, rt. hon. J.
East, J. B. O'Connell, M. J.
Easthope, Sir J. Peel, J
Eliot, Lord Pringle, A.
Escott, B. Round, J.
Flower, Sir Sandon, Visct.
Gaskell, J. Milnes Scarlett, hon. R. C.
Gladstone, rt. hn. W. E. Sheppard, T.
Gordon, hon. Capt. Sibthorp, Col.
Goulburn, rt. hon. H Smith, rt. hn. T. B. C.
Graham, rt. hn. Sir J. Smythe, hon. G.
Greene, T. Stanley, Lord
Grimston, Visct. Trench, Sir F. W.
Hardinge, rt. hn. Sir H. Trotter, J.
Hawes, B. Waddington, H. S.
Henley, J. W. Wood, G. W.
Hervey, Lord A. Yorke, H. R.
Hodgson, R. Young, J.
Inglis, Sir R. H.
Jermyn, Earl TELLERS.
Knatchbull, rt. hn. Sir E Fremantle, Sir T.
Lincoln, Earl of Sutton, M.

Committee deferred.

House adjourned at a quarter to two o'clock.