HC Deb 09 August 1842 vol 65 cc1211-2
Sir J. Graham

moved the third reading of the Coventry Boundary Bill.

Sir C. Douglas

said, that he thought that proceeding this Session with this bill could not be justified, even if its provisions were good in themselves; and sorry, as he was to oppose any measure brought forward by the Government, he should feel that he did not perform his duty if he did not record his opinion, and take the sense of the House on the present occasion. When his right hon. Friend introduced the bill, he undertook not to proceed with it, unless the magistrates of the county should agree to its becoming law. It had been named to them in an irregular manner,—their answer had been that they could not give any opinion upon it, without having time to consider the matters in question. The county Members, on Friday last, had protested against going on with the bill; and if his right hon. Friend refused to bring in a bill to meet the necessity of the case, namely, a bill merely to define the boundary, he would undertake the responsibility of rejecting this measure for the present Session. It would place a heavy burthen on the county ratepayers. His constituents were, therefore, much interested in the matter; it would take away the sessions and assizes from Warwick. The sheriff, grand jury, magistrates, and rate-payers, were all taken by surprise; and although, at this period of the Session, be might stand alone, he would not in any way consent to the passing of this measure; and, therefore, he should move that this bill be read a third time that day three months.

Sir J. Graham

supported the bill on public grounds. In the present state of the disputed boundaries of the city of Coventry, the greatest inconvenience arose. He felt it his duty to put an end to that inconvenience, and he thought his measure calculated to accomplish that object, and he looked upon it as a fair and just measure to all parties concerned.

Mr. Mark Philips

seconded the amendment.

The House divided on the question that the word now stand part of the question. —Ayes 47; Noes 3: Majority 44.

List of the AYES.
Aldam, W. Jermyn, Earl
Arkwright, G. Jones, Capt.
Baird, W. Knatchbull, rt. hn. Sir E
Baldwin, B. Lincoln, Earl of
Bentinck, Lord G. Masterman
Bodkin, W. H. Meynell, Capt.
Boldero, H. G. Morris, D
Bowring, Dr. Nicholl, right hon. J.
Brotherton, J. Palmer, G
Bruce, Lord E. Peel, rt. hon. Sir R.
Buller, C. Polhill, F
Cobden, R. Pringle, A.
Cockburn, rt. hn. Sir G. Ramsbottom, J.
Corry, rt. hon. H. Scholefield, J.
Darby, G. Taylor, T. E
Eliot, Lord Trench, Sir F. W.
Fuller, A. E. Trotter, J.
Goulburn, rt hon. H. Tufnell, H.
Graham, rt. hn. Sir J. Widle, Sir T.
Greene, T. Williams, W
Hamilton, W. J. Wood, B.
Harcourt, G. G. Yorke, H.R.
Henley, J. W. Fremantle Sir T.
Hume, J. Sutton, hon. H.M.
List of the NOES.
A'Court, Capt. TELLERS.
Hodgson, R. Douglas, Sir C. E.
O'Connell, M. J. Philips, M.

Bill read a third time and passed.