HC Deb 09 June 1841 vol 58 cc1380-3

On the question that the report upon the Lancaster Clerk of the Peace Bill be brought up,

Mr. Dugdale

moved, that the bill be recommitted. He took up the subject in the absence of his hon; Friend, the Member for Warwick, The subject had not been sufficiently explained, and he thought that time ought to be given for the introduction of fresh clauses.

The Attorney General

was opposed to any unnecessary delay, and hoped that the proposition for recommittal would not then be pressed.

The House divided on the question, that the bill be recommitted: Ayes 51, Noes 50:—Majority 1.

List of the AYES.
Adare, Viscount Bramston, T. W.
Ainsworth, P. Bruen, Colonel
Arbuthnot, hon. H. Buck, L. W.
Bailey, J. Buller, Sir J. Y.
Baldwin, C. B. Clerk, Sir G.
Drummond, H. H. Lygon, hon. General
Duncombe, hon. W. Mackenzie, T.
Filmer, Sir E. Nicholl, J.
Follett, Sir W. Pakington, J. S.
Forester, hon. G. Palmer, G.
Gaskell, J. Milnes Parker, R. T.
Gore, O. W. Peel, rt. hn. Sir R.
Goring, H. D. Plumptre, J. P.
Graham, rt. hn. Sir J. Rae, rt. hn. Sir W.
Grimsditch, T. Richards, R.
Hamilton, Lord C. Round, J.
Harcourt, G. G. Rushout, G.
Hepburn, Sir T. B. Sheppard, T.
Herries, rt. hon. J. C. Sibthorp, Colonel
Hodgson, R. Sotheron, T. E.
Holmes, hon. W. A'Court Sugden, rt. hn. Sir E,
Thesiger, F.
Hope, hon. C. Vernon, G. H.
Kirk, P. Wilbraham, hon. B.
Knatchbull, right, hn. Sir E. Wynn, rt. hn. C. W.
Lefroy, rt. hon. T. Courtenay, P.
Lindsay, H. H. Dugdale, W. S.
List of the NOES.
Adam, Admiral Muntz, G. F.
Baring, rt. hn. F. T. O'Brien, W. S.
Barry, G. S. Parker, J.
Briscoe, J. I. Parnell, rt. hn. Sir H
Brotherton, J. Philips, M.
Busfeild, W. Pigot, rt. hn. D.
Clay, W. Roche, W.
Dalmeny, Lord Rundle, J.
Duncombe, T. Russell, Lord J.
Erle, W. Scholefield, J.
Ferguson, Sir R. A. Stansfield, W. R. C.
Greg, R. H. Stewart, J.
Grey, rt. hn. Sir C. Stuart, Lord J.
Guest, Sir J. Stuart, W. V.
Heathcoat, J. Thornely, T.
Hector, C. J. Turner, E.
Hobhouse, T. B. Villiers, hon. C. P.
Howard,P. H. Wakley, T.
Hume, J. Walker, R.
Humphery, J. Warburton, H.
Lambton, H. Wilde, Sir T.
Lushington, C. Williams, W.
Lynch, A. H. Wyse, T.
Macaulay, rt. hn. T.
Maclean, D. TELLERS.
Marshall, W. Maule, hon. F.
Motris, D. Campbell, Sir J.

Bill to be recommitted.

Mr. Courtenay

moved, that it be an instruction to the committee to give compensation to the clerks of the justices of the peace for the borough of Manchester.

Mr. M, Philips

opposed the motion. There had been no petition in favour of any such proposition, and it was deprecated by all parties in Manchester.

The House divided: Ayes 28, Noes 65; Majority 37.

List of the AYES.
Arbuthnott, hon. H. Maclean, D.
Bailey, J. Nicholl, J.
Bruen, Colonel Pakington, J. S.
Buller, Sir J. Y. Palmer, G.
Clerk, Sir G. Parker, R. T.
Drummond, H. H. Plumptre, J. P.
Duncombe, hon. W. Richards, R.
Filmer, Sir E. Sheppard, T.
Forester, hon. G. Sibthorp, Colonel
Gore, O. W. Thesiger, F.
Grimsditch, T. Waddington, H. S.
Hodgson, R. Wilbraham, hon. B.
Lefroy, rt. hn. T. Courtenay, P.
Lygon, hon. General Dugdale, W. S.
List of the NOES.
Adam, Admiral Marshall, W.
Ainsworth, P. Maule, hon. F.
Baldwin, C. B. Morris, D.
Baring, rt. hn. F. T. O'Brien, W. S.
Barry, G. S. Parker, J.
Briscoe, J. I. Parnell, rt. hn. Sir H.
Buck, L. W. Peel, rt. hon. Sir R.
Busfield, W. Rae, rt. hon. Sir W.
Campbell, Sir J. Roche, W.
Clay, W. Round, J.
Dalmeny, Lord Rundle, J.
Gaskell, J. Milnes Rushout, G.
Goring, H. D. Russell, Lord J.
Greg, R. H. Scholefield, J.
Grey, rt. hon. Sir C. Stanley, Lord
Guest, Sir J. Stansfield, W. R. C.
Hamilton, Lord C. Stewart, J.
Harcourt, G. G. Stuart, Lord J.
Heathcoat, J, Stuart, W. V.
Hector, C. J. Thornely, T.
Hepburn, Sir T. B. Troubridge, Sir E. T.
Hobhouse, T. B, Turner, E.
Holmes, W. Villiers, hon. C. P.
Hope, hon. G, Wakley, T.
Howard, P. H. Walker, R.
Hume, J. Warburton, H.
Humphery, J. Wilde, Sir T.
Lambton, H. Williams, W.
Lascelles, hon. W. S. Wood, B.
Lindsay, H. H. Wynn, rt. hn, C. W.
Lushington, C. Wyse, T.
Lynch, A. H. TELLERS.
Macaulay, rt. hon. T. Philips, M.
Mackenzie, T. Brotherton, J.

House went into committee.

Mr. Ainsworth

moved, that the provisions of the bill be extended to Bolton.

Mr. Grimsditch

opposed the motion, on the ground, that the charter of Bolton was in dispute.

The Attorney-General

supported the motion, as it did not affect the point in dispute.

Mr. Williams Wynn

thought this an improper time to bring forward the motion.—Motion negatived.

Mr. Dugdale

moved, that a clause be brought up, to allow compensation to the clerks of the justices of the peace of the borough of Birmingham.

Mr. Hume

opposed the motion. There was no proof before the House that the ratepayers of Birmingham, who would be saddled with the expense, had had any notice of the matter.

Clause brought up and agreed to.

The House resumed.

Report received.

Bill to be read a third time to-morrow.