HC Deb 07 June 1841 vol 58 c1302

On the motion that the Clerk of the Peace (Lancaster) Bill be committed,

Sir E. Wilmot

moved, as an instruction, that the committee be empowered to make provision for compensation for losses sustained by officers, by reason of charters granted to certain towns.

The Attorney General opposed the motion.

The House divided on the question that the instruction be given:—Ayes 22; Noes 46; —Majority 24.

List of the AYES.
Buller, Sir J. Y. Parker, R. T.
Clerk, Sir G. Patten, J. W.
Codrington, C. W. Plumplre, J. P.
Copeland, Mr. Ald. Rushout, G.
Courtenay, P. Scholefield, J.
Dugdale, W. S. Shaw, rt. hon. F.
Gladstone, J. N. Shirley, E. J.
Grimsditch, T. Sibthorp, Col.
Hodgson, R. Wilbraham, hon. B.
Hurt, F. Wynn, rt. hon. C. W.
Knatchbull, rt. hon. Sir E. TELLERS.
Douglas, Sir C.
Morgan, O. Wilmot, Sir E.
List of the NOES.
Ainsworth, P. Bernal, R.
Archbold, R. Bowes, J,
Barry, G. S. Campbell, Sir J.
Divett, E. Philips, M.
Ellis, W. Philips, G. R.
Evans, W. Pigot, right hon. D.
Gordon, R. Protheroe, E.
Greg, R. H. Pryme, G.
Grey, rt. hon. Sir G. Roche, Sir D.
Hastie, A. Rundle, J.
Hawes, B. Rutherfurd, rt. hn. A.
Hayter, W. G. Stock, Mr. Serjeant
Hector, C. J. Style, Sir C.
Hindley, C. Thorneley, T.
Hobhouse, T. B. Turner, W.
Howard, P. H. Villiers, hon. C. P.
Hume, J. Walker, R.
James, W. Wallace, R.
Macaulay, rt. hn. T.B. Warburton, H.
Marsland, H. Wilde, Sir T.
Morris, D. Wood, C.
O'Brien, C.
Pease, J. TELLERS.
Pechell, Captain Maule, F.
Pendarves, E. W. W. Brotherton, J.

House in Committee.

Mr. Boiling

moved a clause that the Borough of Bolton be exempted from the operation of this bill.

On the question that the clause be read a second time,

The Attorney General intimated to the hon. Member that the bill affected Lancaster only.

The Committee divided: — Ayes 9; Noes 52;—Majority 43.

List of the AYES.
Copeland, Mr. Ald. Rushbrooke, Col.
Courtenay, P. Sibthorp, Col.
Douglas, Sir C. E. Wilbraham, hon. B.
Dugdale, W. S.
Hodgson, R. TELLERS.
Knatchbull, rt. hon. Boiling, W.
Sir E. Grimsditch, T.
List of the NOES.
Archbold, R. Hobhouse, T. B.
Baring, rt. hon. F. T. Howard, P. H.
Barry, G. S. Hume, J.
Blackburne, I. James, W.
Bowes, J. Macaulay, rt. Hn T. B.
Brotherton, J. Marsland, H.
Buller, Sir J. Y. Morris, D.
Campbell, Sir J. Parker, R. T.
Clerk, Sir G. Patten, J.W.
Darby, G. Pease, J.
Divett, E. Pechell, Captain
Ellis, W. Pendarves, E. W. W.
Evans, W. Philips, M.
Gordon, R. Philips, G. R.
Greg, R. H. Pigot, right hon. D.
Grey, rt. hon. Sir G. Plumptre, J. P.
Hastie, A. Pryme, G.
Hawes, B. Roche, Sir D.
Hayter, W. G. Rundle, J.
Hector, C. J. Scholefield, J.
Hindley, C. Shaw, right hon. F.
Shirley, E. J. Warburton, H.
Stock, Mr. Serjeant Wilde, Sit T.
Style, Sir C. Wood, C.
Thornely, T. Wynn, rt. hon. C. W.
Villiers, hon. C. P. TELLERS.
Walker, R. Ainsworth, P.
Wallace, R. Maule, hon. F.

Bill went through Committee.

House adjourned.