HC Deb 12 June 1840 vol 54 c1163

On the vole of 9,800l. for the college of Maynooth being read,

Sir R. Bateson

expressed himself dissatisfied with the system of education at Maynooth, and would vote against this grant, if any other Member supported the motion for its rejection.

Viscount Morpeth

said, that as the hon. Member for Kent had given notice of a motion against this grant, and as the expenses for the current year were already contracted for, he suggested that the House should not be provoked into a discussion on the subject at present.

Mr. Bagge

said, that if no one would divide the House against the vote he would.

The House divided: Ayes 121; Noes 32: Majority 89.

List of the AYES.
Abercromby, hn. G.R. Evans, W.
Acland, Sir T. D. Ferguson, Sir R. A.
Adam, Admiral Finch, F.
Aglionby, H. A. Fleetwood, Sir P. H.
Aglionby, Major French, F.
Ainsworth, P. Gillon, W. D.
Alston, R, Gisborne, T.
Baines, E. Goddard, A.
Baring, rt. hon. F. T. Gordon, R.
Beamish, F. B. Grattan, H.
Bellew, R. M. Greg, R. H.
Berkeley, hon. H. Grey, rt. hon. Sir G.
Berkeley, hon. C. Hawes, B.
Bernal, R. Heathcoat, J.
Bewes, T. Hector, C. J.
Blake, M. J. Heron, Sir R.
Blake, W. J. Hill, Lord A. M. C.
Bodkin, J. J. Hinde, J. H.
Bowes, J. Hobhouse, rt. hn. Sir J.
Brabazon, Lord Hobhouse, T. B.
Bridgeman, H. Hodges, T. L.
Brotherton, J. Horsman, E.
Buller, E. Howard, hn. E. G.G.
Busfield, W. Howard, F. J.
Campbell, Sir J. Howard, P. H.
Clay, W. Howard, Sir R.
Corbally, M. E. Hume, J.
Craig, W. G. Hutt, W.
D'Eyncourt, r. h. C.T. Hutton, R.
Douglas, Sir C. E. Ingham, R.
Dundas,C. W. D. Knight, H. G.
Dundas, D. Lambton, H.
Elliot, hon. J. E. Lemon, Sir C.
Lister, E. C. Sanford, E. A.
Loch, J. Scholefield, J.
Macaulay, rt. hn. T. B. Seymour, Lord
Maher, J. Sheil, rt. hon. R. L.
Marshall, W. Smith, R. V.
Maule, hon. F. Stansfield, W. R. C
Morpeth, Viscount Stock, Dr.
Muntz, G. F. Strutt, E.
Murray, A. Style, Sir C.
Norreys, Sir D. J. Talbot, C. R. M.
O'Brien, C. Talbot, J. H.
O'Brien, W. S. Thornely, T.
O'Connell, M. Tollemache, F. J.
O'Ferrall, R. M. Troubridge, Sir E. T.
Palmerston, Viscount Tufnell, H.
Pechell, Captain Vigors, N. A.
Pendarves, E. W. W. Wakley, T.
Philips, M. Wallace, R.
Pigot, D. R. Warburton, H.
Power, J. Westenra, hon. J. C
Price, Sir R. Williams, W.
Pryme, G. Williams, W. A.
Rawdon, Col. J. D. Wood, G. W.
Redington, T. N. Wood, B.
Roche, Sir D. Worsley, Lord
Rumbold, C. E. Wyse, T.
Rundle, J. TELLERS.
Rutherfurd, rt. hn. A. Stanley, hon. E. J.
Salwey, Colonel Parker, J.
List of the NOES.
Acland, T. D. Hughes, W. B.
Archdall, M. Ingestre, Lord
Blackburne, I. Kemble, H.
Blackstone, W. S. Lockhart, A. M.
Brooke, Sir A. B. Mackenzie, T.
Bruce, C. L. C. Mackenzie, W. F.
Burr, H. Packe, C. W.
Cole, hon. A. H. Parker, R. T.
Duffield, T. Perceval, hon. G. J.
Duncombe, hon. W. Plumptre, J. P.
Egerton, Sir P. Rushout, G.
Farnham, E. B. Sibthorp, Colonel
Fielden, W. Smyth, Sir G. H.
Gladstone, W. E. Waddington, H. S.
Glynne, Sir S. R.
Gore, O. J. R. TELLERS.
Hodgson, R. Bateson, Sir R.
Houldsworth, T. Bagge, W.

The remaining votes agreed to, and the report received, and the other orders of the day having been disposed of; the House adjourned at half-past one o'clock to Monday.