HC Deb 30 July 1840 vol 55 cc1160-1

Mr. Nicholl moved, that the House go into committee on the Church Discipline Bill.

Mr. Warburton,

considering the lateness of the period at which this measure had been introduced, and the many important interests which it affected, felt bound to move, that the committee on this bill be postponed till that day three mouths.

The House divided on the original question:—Ayes 27; Noes 15: Majority 12.

List of the AYES.
Baring, rt. hon. F. T. Parker, J.
Dalmeny, Lord Parnell, rt. hn. Sir H.
Ferguson, Sir R. A. Pigot, D. R.
Gladstone, W. E. Polhill, F.
Hodges, T. L. Kickford, W.
Horsman, E. Scrope, G. P.
Kemble, H. Seale, Sir J. H.
Labouchere, rt. hn. H. Seymour, Lord
Loch, J. Stanley, hon. E. J.
Lushington, rt. hn. S. Teignmouth, Lord
Lynch, A. H. Vernon, G. H.
Marshall, W. Wilmot, Sir J. E.
Morpeth, Viscount TELLERS.
Morris, D. Nicholl, J.
Norreys, Sir D. J. Maule, hon. F.
List of the NOES.
Baines, E. Salwey, Colonel
Brotherton, J. Smith, B.
Evans, Sir De L. Thornely, T.
Finch, F. Vigors, N. A.
Hoskins, K. Wakley, T.
Humphrey, J. Yates, J. A.
Lushington, C TELLERS.
Pechell, Capt. Warburton, H.
Pryme, G. Hawes, T.

Bill went through the committee, and the report was received.