HC Deb 14 August 1839 vol 50 c285

The Chancellor of the Exchequer moved for leave to bring in a bill, to exempt the parliamentary grant to the heirs of the Duke of Marlborough, from the payment of the duty of 1s. 6d. in the pound.

Mr. Hume

objected to the motion at so late an hour.

Mr. W. Williams

moved the adjournment of the House.

The House divided: Ayes 39; Noes 0: Majority 39.

List of the Ayes.
Adam, Admiral Hoskins, K.
Aglionby, H. A. Lowther, J. H.
Baring, F. T. Morpeth, Lord
Bernal,R. Norreys, Lord
Brotherton, J. O'Connell, D.
Cowper, hon. W. F. O'Connell, J.
Dalmeney, Lord O'Connell, M. J.
Darby, G. O'Ferral, R. M.
Douglas, Sir C. E. Pechell, Captain
Ellis, J. Philips, M.
Fremantle, Sir T. Pigot, D. R.
Gordon, R. Pryme, G.
Grey, rt. hon. Sir G. Rice, rt. hon. T, S.
Harcourt, G. G. Rich, H.
Hinde, J. H. Rolfe, Sir R. M.
Hobhouse, rt. hn. Sir J. Sawley, Colonel
Scholefield, J. Vigors, N. A.
Shaw, rt. hon. F. Wood, C.
Sheil, R. L. TELLERS.
Somerville, Sir W. M. Stanley, E. J.
Townley, R. G. Steuart, R.
Tellers of the NOES.
Hume, J. Williams, W.
Leave given.