HC Deb 09 May 1838 vol 42 c1075
Mr. W. F. Campbell

moved the second reading of the Salmon Fisheries (Scotland) Bill, and said, that he had sat on three Committees on this subject, and was convinced of the justice of the Bill. He was open to any suggestions that might be made in Committee.

Mr. Brotherton

said, as this was an opposed bill, he should move the adjournment of the House, as it was too late to go on with it.

The House divided on the question of adjournment: Ayes 37; Noes 41: Majority 4.

List of the AYES.
Bentinck, Lord G. Colquhoun, J. C.
Buller, Sir J. Y. Conolly, E.
Codrington, C. W. Curry, W.
Darby, G. Maule, hon. F.
Dennistoun, J. Morris, D.
Evans, W. O'Connell, M.
Fox, G. L. Powerscourt, Viscount
Gaskell, Jas. Milnes Protheroe, E.
Gordon, R. Richards, R.
Grimsditch, T. Rundle, J.
Handley, H. Sinclair, Sir G.
Hawkes, T. Thornley, T.
Hayter, W. G. Vigors, N. A.
Hepburn, Sir T. B. Wakley, T.
Hume, J. Wallace, R.
Jervis, J. Warburton, H.
Lockhart, A. M. Williams, W.
Lynch, A. H. TELLERS.
Mackenzie, T. Brotherton, J.
Macleod, R. Chalmers, P.
List of the NOES.
Abercromby, hn. G. R. Hillsborough, Earl of
Aglionby, H. A. Hinde, J. H.
Alston, R. Hughes, W. B.
Arbuthnot, hon. H. Jackson, Sergeant
Archbold, R. Jephson, C. D. O.
Ball, N. Kinnard, hon. A. F.
Bannerman, A. Lefevre, C. S.
Barrington, Viscount Mackenzie, W. F.
Blair, J. Mordaunt, Sir J.
Callaghan, D. Morpeth, Viscount
Campbell, W. F. Nicholl, J.
Cantalupe, Viscount Patten, J. W.
Craig, W. G. Pechell, Captain
Dunbar, G. Perceval, Colonel
Duncombe, T. Pringle, A.
Estcourt, T. Rice, rt. hon. T. S.
Etwall, R. Rushbrooke, Colonel
Ferguson, Sir R. A. Talbot, J. H.
Gibson, T. Williams, W. A.
Gillon, W. D. TELLERS.
Gordon, hon. Captain Holmes, W.
Hale, R. B. Greene, T.

The House again divided on the question that the bill be read a second time; Ayes 45; Noes 13: Majority for the second reading 32.

List of the AYES.
Abercromby, hn. G. R. Fox, G. L.
Aglionby, H. A. Caskell, Jas. Milnes
Arbuthnot, hon. H. Gibson, T.
Archbold, R. Gillon, W.
Ball, N. Gordon, R.
Bannerman, A. Gordon, hon. Captain
Barrington, Viscount Grimsditch, T.
Blair, J. Hawkes, T.
Brotherton, J. Hepburn, Sir T. B.
Buller, Sir J. Y. Hinde, J. H.
Gallaghan, D. Hughes, W. B.
Clerk, Sir G. Jephson, C. D. O.
Codrington, C. Kinnaird, hon. A. F.
Craig, W. G. Lockhart, A. M.
Curry, W. Lynch, A. H.
Darby, G. Mackenzie, W. F.
Dunbar, G. Morpeth, Viscount
Etwall, R. Nichol, J.
O'Connell, M. Pringle, A.
Patten, J. W. Protheroe, E.
Pease, J. Rushbrooke, Colonel
Pechell, Captain TELLERS.
Perceval, Colonel Campell, W. F.
Powerscourt, Viscount Holmes, W.
List of the NOES.
Bentinck, Lord G. Rundle, J.
Cantelupe, Viscount Sinclair, Sir G.
Dennistoun, J. Vigors, N. A.
Hale, R. B. Wakley, T.
Macleod, R. Warburton, H.
Macleod, R.
Maule, hon. F. TELLERS.
Mordaunt, Sir J. Wallace, R.
Richards, R. Chalmers, P.