HC Deb 23 July 1838 vol 44 cc546-9

The Chancellor of the Exchequer moved the third reading of the Schools (Scotland) Bill.

Mr. Gillon

said, that late as the hour was, he felt it to be his duty to state his objections to this Bill. He objected to the way in which the money was to be raised, and he thought the only effect which such a measure could have, would be to introduce a narrow and sectarian system of education in Scotland. He also objected to the arrangements with respect to schoolmasters, and he could only say, that the bill would not satisfy those at whose instance it had been brought forward. It was a measure fraught with injustice to the Scotch Dissenters, and before such a bill was passed the Government should recollect, that it was from the Dissenters of Scotland they received their best supplies. If this measure were passed it was exceedingly doubtful whether the Chancellor of the Exchequer could carry his proposed com- mittee on the subject, and he (Mr. Gillon) must say, that such a bill, instead of proceeding, ought to have waited the result of the inquiry intended to be instituted. Legislation of this kind was felt as "a severe blow and great discouragement," to the Dissenters of Scotland; and, therefore, he should not discharge his duty if he did not move, that the bill be read a third time that day six months.

Mr. P. Howard

seconded the motion.

The Chancellor of the Exchequer

de fended the bill, and hoped the House would allow it to pass the final stage.

Mr. Wyse

said, that if he received an assurance from the right hon. Gentleman, the Chancellor of the Exchequer, that a general inquiry into the subject of education in Scotland should take place, he would support the motion for the third reading of this bill, but otherwise he must oppose it.

The House divided on the original motion:—Ayes 42; Noes 17: Majority 25.

List of the AYES.
Adam, Admiral Lynch, A. H.
Bagge, W. Maule, hon. F.
Barrington, Lord Murray, J. A.
Bernal, R. Nicholl, J.
Blair, J. O'Brien, W. S.
Curry, W. O'Ferrall, R. M.
Darby, G. Parker, R. T.
Douglas, Sir C. E. Perceval, Colonel
Dunbar, G. Rice, right hon. T. S.
Elliot, hon. J. E. Rolfe, Sir R. M.
Ellis J. Rushbrooke, R.
Ferguson, Sir R. Russell, Lord J.
Grey, Sir G. Steuart, R.
Hastie, A. Tennent, J. E.
Hobhouse, Sir J. Thomson, C. P.
Hodgson, R. Troubridge, Sir E. T.
Holmes, W. Vernor, Colonel
Howick, Lord Westenra, J. C.
Inglis, Sir H. Wilde, Sergeant
Jones, T.
Lefroy, rt. hon. T. TELLERS.
Lockhart, A. M. Stanley, E. J.
Lowther, J. H. Parker, J.
List of the NOES.
Aglionby, H. A. Power, J.
Archbold, R. Redington, T. N.
Brotherton, J. Style, Sir C.
Bryan, G. Vigors, N. A.
Hobhouse, T. B. Warburton, H.
Horsman, E. Wood, G. W.
Hutton, R. Wyse, T.
Maher, J. TELLERS.
O'Connell, M. J. Gillon, W.
O'Connell, M. Howard, P.

Bill read a third time and passed.