HC Deb 09 July 1838 vol 44 c46
Mr. Warburton

moved the third reading of this bill,

Colonel Sibthorp opposed it, and moved as an amendment, that it be read a third time this day six months.

The House divided on the original motion:—Ayes 63; Noes 14:—Majority 49.

List of the AYES
Alsager, Captain Mackenzie, T.
Archbold, R. Macleod, R.
Ashley, Lord Maher, J.
Baines, E. Maule, hon. F.
Barrington, Viscount Morpeth, Viscount
Beamish, F. B. Murray, J. A.
Bowes, J. O' Brien, W. S.
Brotherton, J. O'Connell, J.
Bruges, W. H. L. O'Connell, M. J.
Burroughes, H. Pakington, J. S.
Divett, E. Parker, J.
Douglas, Sir C. E. Pease, J.
Eaton, R. J. Perceval, hon. G.
Filmer, Sir E. Pringle, A.
Finch, F. Rae, rt. hon. S.
Gladstone, W. E. Rice rt. hon. T. S.
Gordon, R. Roche, Sir D.
Grey, Sir G. Rolfe, Sir R. M.
Grimsditch, T. Rundle, J.
Hawes, B. Russell, Lord J.
Hawkes, T. Salwey, Colonel
Hindley, C. Sandon, Lord Visc.
Hobhouse, T. B. Sheil, R. L.
Hodges, T. L. Stanley, E. J.
Howard, P. H. Steuart, R.
Hughes, W. B. Style, Sir C.
Hutt, W. Thornely, T.
Hutton, R. Vigors, N. A.
Jackson, Sergeant Wallace, R.
Langdale, hon. C. Wood, G. W.
Lefevre, C. S. TELLERS.
Litton, E. Aglionby, H. A.
Lockhart, A. M. Warburton, H.
List of the NOES.
Bagge, W. Cole, Lord Visc.
Blackstone, W. S. Darby, G.
Blandford, Marq. of Hinde, J. H.
Buller, Sir J. Y. Hodgson, R.
Inglis, Sir R. H. Waddington, H.
Perceval, Col.
Plumptre, J. P. TELLERS.
Rose, Sir G. Dungannon, Lord
Rushout, G. Sibthorp, Col.

On the main question being again put, Colonel Sibthorp was determined to oppose it as long as he possibly could, and he therefore moved an adjournment.

The House divided on the adjournment;—Ayes 14; Noes 51;—Majority 37.

The question was however postponed.