HC Deb 03 August 1838 vol 44 cc1000-1
Mr. E. Tennent

moved the order of the day for the House to go into Committee on the Spirit Licences (Ireland) Bill.

Mr. Shaw

opposed the motion, as he considered that a measure of this sort would be productive of the worst consequences. He did not mean to cast any reflection upon the grocers of Ireland, because he knew that they were a most respectable class of individuals, and he only objected to this measure because he felt that by so doing he was performing his duty to the public. What he objected to was, that the grocers should be allowed to sell spirits to be drunk upon the premises when those premises were not licensed as public-houses, and consequently not subject to the public-house regulations. He thought the conduct of the Government in regard to this measure totally inexcusable, as they had given him to understand that they would oppose this bill, while they now supported it, although he was persuaded that they and every other authority allowed that such a system as this bill would continue for another year, ought to be put an end to. He was willing to accord ample time for the grocers to dispose of their stock of spirits, but two years had already been granted for that purpose, and, under all the circumstances of the case, he felt bound to oppose the further progress of the measure, and he should give it his most strenuous opposition in every stage.

Lord Clements

said, he felt compelled, although reluctantly, to support the motion of the right hon. Gentleman, and resist the further progress of this bill.

Mr. O'Connell

supported the bill, and said that a Committee of that House had decided in favour of the grocers having the power of selling spirits. It had, however, afterwards been reported that they had abused the privilege, but a deputation which they had sent over had proved that that report was unjust. He trusted that the House would consent to allow the grocers another year to dispose of their stock, and in that time they and the Legislature would have ample time to make arrangements for the future.

The House divided on the question that the Speaker do now leave the chair:—Ayes 28; Noes 23:—Majority 5.

List of the AYES.
Aglionby, H. A. Pechell, Capt.
Archbold, R. Power, J.
Blennerhassett, A. Pryme, G.
Bridgeman, H. Redington, T. N.
Finch, F. Salwey, Colonel
Grattan, J. Sheil, R. L.
Hobhouse, T. B. Somerville, Sir W. M.
Hodges, T. L. Steuart, R
Howard, P. H. Stock, Dr.
Lynch, A. H. Verner, Col.
Morris, D. Vigors, N. A.
O'Connell, J. Wallace, R.
O'Connell, M. J.
O'Connell, M. TELLERS.
O'Ferrall, R. M. O'Connell, D.
Parker, J. Tennent, E.
List of the NOES.
Acland, Sir T. D. Lowther, J. H.
Acland, T. D. Perceval, Col.
Brotherton, J. Perceval, hon. G.
Clements, Lord Rushbrooke, R.
Curry, W. Style, Sir C.
Darby, G. Thornhill, G.
Ferguson, Sir R. Trench, Sir F.
Goulburn, H. Wood, G. W.
Graham, Sir J. Young, J.
Hawes, B.
Hodgson, R. TELLERS.
Hutton, R. Lucas, F.
Inglis, Sir R. H. Shaw, F.
Jones, T.

The House in Committee, but almost immediately resumed.

Committee to sit again.