HC Deb 11 May 1837 vol 38 c815

Lord John Russell moved for leave to bring in a Bill to regulate the payment of Rates and Taxes by parliamentary electors and for the abolition of the stamp duty on the admission of freemen.

Mr. Forbes

objected to the motion.

The House divided:—Ayes 29; Noes 9; Majority 20.

List of the AYES.
Bernal, R. Morpeth, Viscount
Blake, M. J. O'Connell, J.
Brotherton, J. O'Connell, M. J.
Chalmers, P. O'Connell, M.
Crawford, W. S. Pryme, G.
Duncombe, T. Pryse, P.
Ebrington, Viscount Robinson, G. R.
Gordon, R. Russell, Lord J.
Hindley, C. Sheil, R. L.
Jervis, J. Stanley, E. J.
Labouchere, H. Woulfe, Sergeant
Lennard, T. B. Young, G. F.
Lennox, Lord G. TELLERS.
Lynch, A. H. Smith, V.
Maule, hon. F. Baring, F. T.
List of the NOES.
Forster, C. S. Tennent, J. E.
Goulburn, H. West, J. B.
Hayes, Sir E. S. Wood, Colonel T.
Knight, H. G. TELLERS.
Perceval, Colonel Graham, Sir J.
Stanley, Lord Shaw, rt. hon. F.

Leave given to bring in the Bill.