HC Deb 28 June 1837 vol 38 cc1678-80

Mr. Elphinstone moved the second reading of the Final Registration of Electors Bill.

Mr. Williams Wynn

opposed the motion. He thought it was unjust to send up such ill-considered measures to the other House at this period of Parliament.

Sir E. Knatchbull

thought the Bill ought not to be proceeded with in the present state of the Session. He would agree to the second reading with a view of going into Committee to render the Bill perfect, in order to present it to the next Parliament, but not to pass it this Session.

The House divided:—Ayes 49; Noes 6: Majority 43.

List of the AYES.
Baines, E. Macleod, R.
Bannerman, Musgrave, Sir R.
Barnard, E. G. O'Ferrall, R. M.
Bernal, R. Parker, J.
Bewes, T. Pechell, Captain
Blake, M. J. Potter, R.
Brotherton, J. Poulter, J. S.
Callaghan, D. Seale, Colonel
Cavendish, C. Seymour, Lord
Codrington, Admiral Stanley, E. J.
Collier, J. Steuart, R.
Crawford, W. S. Strickland, Sir G.
Curteis, H. B. Thomson, C. P.
Dennistoun, J. Thornley, T.
Dillywn, L. W. Tooke, W.
Ebrington, Viscount Villiers, C. P.
Ellice, E. Wakley, T.
Fenton, J. Whalley, Sir S.
Gordon, R. Williams, W.
Grey, Sir G. Winnington, H. J.
Hindley, C. Woulfe, Serg.
Hodges, T. L. Young, G. F.
Hume, J.
Jervis, J. TELLERS.
Lennox, Lord G. Aglionby, H. A.
Lennox, Lord A. Elphinstone, H.
List of the NOES.
Dugdale, W. S. Wynn, C. W.
Forster, C. S.
Gaskell, James Milnes TELLERS.
Hinde, J. H. Sandon, Viscount
Richards, R. Knatchbull, Sir E.