HC Deb 10 May 1836 vol 33 c814

The Order of the Day was read for resuming the adjourned debate on the Bill for regulating the expense of proving titles of land taken under the authority of private Acts of Parliament.

Mr. Pease

supported the Bill.

Mr. Tooke

opposed it, and moved an instruction to the Committee "to introduce clauses for relieving, under proper restrictions, railway and other public companies from unconscionable contracts extorted from them by landowners as the price of their assent."

Mr. Hume

thought it would be better to refer the whole question to the Railways Committee.

Mr. Tooke

withdrew his amendment.

An amendment was moved by Mr. Hume in the sense above described.

The House divided on the original question—Ayes 84; Noes 100: Majority 16.

Matter referred to the Select Committee on Railways.

List of the AYES.
Acheson, Viscount Grote, G.
Aglionby, H. A. Handley, H.
Alston, R. Heathcote, G. J.
Barclay, D. Hector, C.J.
Bethell, R. Henniker, Lord
Bewes, T. Hindley, C.
Bramston, T. W. Hodges, T. L.
Buller, C. Houldsworth, T.
Duller, E. Howard, P. H.
Cavendish, hon. G. H. Hutt,, W.
Cayley, E. S. Jones, W.
Colborne, N. R. Jones, T.
Corry, right hon. H. Kerrison, Sir E.
Crawley, S. King, E. B.
Crompton, S. Knightley, Sir C.
Curteis, H. B. Lambton, H.
Curteis, E. B. Lawson, A.
Divett, E. Lees, J. F.
Dowdeswell, W. Lefevre, C. S.
Dunbar, G. Lennard, T. B.
Duncombe, T. Lowther, hon. Col.
Dundas, hon. T. Maxwell, J.
Estcourt, T. Miles, P. J.
Ferguson, R. Mordaunt, Sir J.
Finch, G. Mosley, Sir O.
Forbes, W. Neeld, J.
Forster, C. S. Paget, F.
Freshfield, J. W. Pattison, J.
Gaskell, J. M. Pease, J.
Goring, H. D. Richards, John
Greene, T, Robarts, A. W.
Sanford, E. A. Weyland, Major
Scott, Sir E. D. Wilbraham, G.
Scott, J. W. Wilbraham, hon. B.
Seale, Colonel Wilkins, W.
Sharpe, General Williamson, Sir H.
Speirs, A. Wilson, H.
Townley, R. G. Wodehouse, E.
Trelawney, Sir W. Wrightson, W. B.
Trevor, Hon. A. Young, G. F.
Vere, Sir C. B.
Verner, Colonel TELLERS.
Vyvyan, Sir R. Ebrington, Viscount
Wemyss, Captain Harland, W. C.
List of the NOES.
Angerstein, J. Maunsell, T. P.
Baillie, H. D. Miles, W.
Baines, E. Musgrave, Sir R.
Beckett, rt. hn. Sir J. Neeld, J.
Bernal, R. O'Brien, W. S.
Blamire, W. O'Ferrall, R. M.
Brocklehurst, J. Palmer, General
Brotherton, J. Parker, J.
Brownrigg, S. Parrott, J.
Buckingham, J. S. Parry, Sir L. P. J.
Byng, right hon. G. Peel, rt. hn. Sir R.
Campbell, Sir J. Philips, M.
Canning, rt. hn. Sir S. Plumptre, J. P.
Cartwright, W. R. Potter, R.
Childers, J. W. Poulter, J. S.
Compton, H. C. Powell, Colonel
Conolly, E. M. Power, J.
Crawford, W. S. Price, Sir R.
Dalbiac, Sir C. Pryme, G.
Darlington, Earl of Pusey, P.
Denison, J. E. Ridley, Sir M.
Dillwyn, L. W. Roche, D.
Duffield, T. Rolfe, Sir R. M.
Dundas, J. D. Ross, C.
Ellice, right hon. E. Rundle, J.
Estcourt, T. Russell, Lord J.
Fazakerley, J. N. Sheppard, T.
Fergus, J. Smith, R. V.
Fergusson, rt. hn. R. C. Somerset, Lord G.
Fitzroy, Lord C. Strickland, Sir G.
Fremantle, Sir T. Stuart, Lord J.
Hastie, A. Thomson, rt. hn. C. P.
Hawkes, T. Thompson, Colonel
Heathcoat, J. Tooke, W.
Hogg, J. W. Troubridge, Sir E. T.
Hoy, J. B. Tulk, C. A.
Hume, J. Villiers, C. P.
Jackson, Sergeant Wakley, T.
Knatchbull, Sir E. Wall, C. B.
Labouchere, rt. hn. H. Warburton, H.
Lennox, Lord G. Westenra, hon. H. R.
Lennox, Lord A. Whalley, Sir S.
Lincoln, Earl of White, S.
Lushington, C. Williams, W. A.
Lushington, rt. hn S. R. Wood, Colonel
Mackinnon, W. A. Wortley, hon. J. S.
Maclean, D. Wrottesley, Sir J.
M'Leod, R. Yorke, E. T.
M'Taggart, J.
Mahon, Lord TELLERS.
Mangles, J. Steuart, R.
Marsland, H. Maule, hon. F.