HC Deb 11 June 2002 vol 386 cc1235-6W
Tim Loughton

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department (1) who has responsibility for providing public mortuaries; [59440]

(2) if he will list public mortuaries in England, indicating who is responsible for running them. [59439]

Hilary Benn

[holding answer 24 May 2002]: Under the Public Health Act 1936, local authorities have the power to provide public mortuaries and post-mortem rooms. In practice, I understand that most coroners and local authorities rely on the national health service facilities for mortuary provision.

Following a recent survey carried out by the Home Office, we are aware that the following local authorities in England provide a public mortuary service:

  • London borough of Barnet
  • London borough of Brent
  • London borough of Bromley
  • London borough of Croydon
  • London borough of Greenwich
  • London borough of Hammersmith and Fulham
  • London borough of Hillingdon
  • London borough of Lewisham
  • London borough of Newham
  • London borough of Westminster
  • Birmingham city council
  • Bracknell Forest council
  • Bradford metropolitan district council
  • 1236W
  • Brighton and Hove city council
  • Bournemouth borough council
  • Cannock Chase district council
  • High Peak borough council
  • Kingston upon Hull city council
  • Liverpool city council
  • Pendle borough council
  • Rossendale borough council
  • Sheffield city council
  • Stoke-on-Trent city council
  • Wolverhampton city council.

Forward to