HC Deb 04 July 2002 vol 388 cc499-500W
Mr. Laws

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Skills how many education action zones exist; where they are; and if she will make a statement. [66285]

Mr. Miliband

There are 73 Statutory Education Action Zones. The table indicates where they are located:

Education action zone Local education authority
Ashington Northumberland
Aston and Nechells Birmingham
Barnsley Barnsley
Barrow Cumbria
Bedford Bedfordshire
Blackburn with Darwen Blackburn with Darwen
Breightmet and Tonge Bolton
Bridgwater Somerset
Bristol Bristol
Camborne Pool Redruth Cornwall
Clacton and Harwich Essex
Corby Northamptonshire
Coventry Coventry
Derby North East Derby
Dingle Granby Toxteth Liverpool
Downham and Bellingham Lewisham
Dudley Dudley
Easington and Seaham Durham
East Basildon Essex
East Brighton Brighton and Hove
East Cleveland Redcar and Cleveland
East Manchester Manchester
Ellesmere Port Cheshire
Gloucester Gloucestershire
Education action zone Local education authority
Great Yarmouth Norfolk
Greenwich Greenwich
Grimsby North East Lincolnshire
Hackney Hackney
Halifax Calderdale
Hastings and St. Leonards East Sussex
Herefordshire Herefordshire
Hull Kingston upon Hull
Kent-Somerset Virtual Kent and Somerset
Kitts Green/Shard End Birmingham
Lambeth Lambeth
Leicester City of Leicester
Leigh Wigan
Leigh Park Hampshire
Middlesbrough Middlesbrough
NE Derbyshire Coalfields Derbyshire
NE Sheffield Sheffield
New Addington Croydon
Newcastle Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Newham Newham
North Gillingham Medway Towns
North Islington Islington
North Southwark Southwark
North Stockton Stockton
Nottingham Nottingham
NW Shropshire Shropshire
Oxford Hamilton Oxford
Peterlee Durham
Plymouth Plymouth
Preston Lancashire
Rainbow (Stoke) Stoke
Salford and Trafford Salford and Trafford
SE England Virtual Bromley and Essex
SE Sheffield Sheffield
Slough Slough
South Bradford Bradford
South Tyneside South Tyneside
Southend Southend
Speke Garston Liverpool
Sunderland Sunderland
Telford and Wrekin Telford and Wrekin
Thetford Norfolk
Wakefield Wakefield
Wednesbury Sandwell
Westminster Westminster
Weston North Somerset
Withernsea and Southern Holderness East Riding
Wolverhampton Wolverhampton
Wythenshawe Manchester

There are also 102 EiC Action Zones which form part of the Excellence in Cities initiative, and are located in EiC areas.